Pork with Peach and Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I made this last night for guests and everyone raved! Not being a beer drinker, I used low sodium chicken broth instead and used the entire can of black beans. I served this with orzo, a green salad and, as suggested, a nice red wine. Thanks, Alex. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
So easy my husband didn't even screw it up! A taste we weren't expecting but enjoyed on the first bite and more by the last. The first time this was made we used a generic Japanese brand salsa that has no bite (live in Japan). The second time, we used an American salsa that gave the dish more of a sweet sour taste. Depending on your tastes, simple to fiddle with the salsa to tweak the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by concretejungleprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Living In: Osaka, Osaka, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Followed the recipe exactly as stated. Its consistency is like that of a very hearty stew. It was W-O-N-D-E-R-F-U-L!!! Thanks so much for sharing this delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mallinda
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
My husband was more enthusiastic about this than anything I've made in a long time. I was determined to make the cornmeal work, and I believe the solution is to make sure your oil is very hot when you first add the coated meat, and not to turn it until there is a good, golden color to the down side. Continue to turn and brown the meat until all sides are browned. This gives a crisp coating that won't fall off and get mushy, as some reviewers have complained about. I used medium salsa, but think it would be better with hot. I also added the whole can of beans and don't think it was too much. (And besides, what was I going to do with half a can of black beans?) Initially I added a little more beer, bean liquid, and peach syrup, but as it continued to cook and thicken, I just periodically added a little water. The pork was wonderfully tender, and the combination of flavors was unusual and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Tried this recipe. Though the idea was great I think it could do without the cornmeal. It made the sauce very mushy and grainy and sloppy looking. If I made this again I would do without the cornmeal and just quickly brown the pork and let it simmer in the sauce. Also the peaches gave it a nice flavor but I'm not big on pork/peaches. Might forgo the peaches too. The beans, salsa, and beer were an excellent idea though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
We've made this many times and love it. We skip the cornmeal, use a medium level salsa and season the pork with jerk or creole seasoning before cooking to add a little flavor. It's a great dinner for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I had some boneless pork chops in the freezer I needed to use up, so I used them in the recipe. I also used 1/4 cup of Corona beer, and added a couple of splashes of lime juice. Also, I didn't want half a can of black beans sitting in my fridge until the next century, so I just threw in the whole can of drained beans. This recipe came out delicious, it was a nice mix of interesting flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Since I didn't have pork tenderloin on hand I used pork chops instead and it turned out great. I didn't have beer either so used water as someone else had suggested. I prepared it in a big frying pan with a tight fitting lid to ensure the chops stayed moist and tender. My family loved it and my husband asked me to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRETCHEN ANN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I feel that the cornmeal greatly declined the quality of this recipe. I read other reviews and took the time to make sure the cornmeal created a nice crispy crust, but once the other ingredients were added, the cornmeal crust began to breakdown. The sauce became grainy. I didn't like the texture one bit, but the taste was pretty good. Will try this one again without the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This is SO good. I was skeptical but the flavors blend so delicately, the sauce is fabulous. I used mild salsa but you could go with medium if you wanted to give a little more kick, or hot if you live in the southwest. The sweetness from the peaches balances out the heat. Chicken broth substitutes well for the beer, raise it to a 1/2 cup if you want a thinner sauce (my preference). I also mixed fresh mint half and half with the cilantro. This dish is simple and fast, took me just under 40 minutes start to finish. Goes great with grilled corn and makes a super dish for the RV.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States