Pork with Peach and Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
We omit the cornmeal, use 2 cans of black beans (draining 1 can and adding the other with the liquid), and use diced peaches. We also use HOT salsa--so there is nothing bland about it. My Husband's FAVORITE meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Polo, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I was actually pleasantly surprised. I did have to doctor it up with some garlic, and increase the heat. I think it all depends on the salsa you go with. Mine was definitely too mild. I put in the whole can of black beans. This stew did not go over well with my kids. They did not like the idea of peaches and meat together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
Since I’m a huge fan of cilantro, I enjoy this recipe. It’s a quick and simple dish that makes a casual week day meal. I use “hot” salsa to give it a “kick” and triple the cilantro. Jan. 2013 update: There is no way to brown a pound of pork using just 1 Tbl. of olive oil, so ignore this amount and add as much olive oil to your skillet as you need to brown the pork. I also use the whole can of back beans and not the 1/2 can the recipe calls for. The recipe comes out just fine and I'm not stuck trying to figure out what to do with the 1/2 can of leftover beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
we followed the recipe and loved it. easy and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
We really liked this and served it over brown rice. I used the whole can of black beans and doubled the "medium" salsa. I will probably double it next time for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I thought this was just excellent! It had plenty of flavor with the cilantro and some medium salsa. We served it over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
I had some boneless pork chops in the freezer I needed to use up, so I used them in the recipe. I also used 1/4 cup of Corona beer, and added a couple of splashes of lime juice. Also, I didn't want half a can of black beans sitting in my fridge until the next century, so I just threw in the whole can of drained beans. This recipe came out delicious, it was a nice mix of interesting flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Tried this recipe. Though the idea was great I think it could do without the cornmeal. It made the sauce very mushy and grainy and sloppy looking. If I made this again I would do without the cornmeal and just quickly brown the pork and let it simmer in the sauce. Also the peaches gave it a nice flavor but I'm not big on pork/peaches. Might forgo the peaches too. The beans, salsa, and beer were an excellent idea though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
I used a peach salsa instead of peaches and tomato salsa and it was great! A real "make again". Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLKELLEY97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
We've made this many times and love it. We skip the cornmeal, use a medium level salsa and season the pork with jerk or creole seasoning before cooking to add a little flavor. It's a great dinner for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States