Pork with Peach and Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I cut up the pork tenderloin and placed the pieces on a flat tray. Following other suggestions, I sprinkled garlic powder, and paprika, along with the salt & pepper. Then, using a large flat pancake turner, I scooped the meat and placed it on the bag containing the cornmeal, which I had spread all over the gallon-sized bag, ensuring all meat was covered. The people who had bad experiences with the cornmeal, I think it was because they undercook their meat. The other changes I made was to smash the peaches as much as possible, due to picky eaters at home, and used a jar of taco sauce - medium flavor instead of salsa. I also simmered a bit longer - for about 40 minutes, which made it much thicker. All and all it was a very good recipe and we will be cooking it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yarag009

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
My new favorite recipe. I've made this twice and it turned out great both times. It's very forgiving of variations. I more than doubled it because the pork loin package was really big. I put extra black beans and peaches the second time. The sauce is really tasty and has a nice consistency. It works with flour in place of the cornmeal if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I thought that it was a little bland when I was finished cooking so I added the remainder of the salsa at the table and it really improved the flavor. My whole family liked it with additional sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dquinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I give this recipe a two only because of the cornmeal. I will make this again without the cornmeal and will experiment with chicken and mangoes instead of pork and peaches. The cornmeal in the recipe just makes a really weird texture and it does not look that appetizing. Drop the cornmeal and I would give it a five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made this for the first time last night. It is fabulous. My husband and son raved about it. Since I am a working Mom, I sliced the pork, coated it with cornmeal seasoned with fresh ground pepper, and browned it the night before. The next night I completed cooking the dish within 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I did not use the cornmeal based of previous reviews but i did add mix about 1/4 cup cornbread mix with some of the liquid so the sauce would thicken up. My crew gave this a thumbs up, but we think it will make a big difference if we are sure to use our favorite salsa and a beer we are familiar with. Since I was doubling the recipe, I bought Reser's Baja Cafe refrigerated salsa instead of Emerald Valley's salsa and we had picked up some Sierra Nevada Celebration ale and were not happy with it and since we hardly ever drink, we had nothing else =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I actually think I would have liked this more if I had made it with chicken instead of pork, and mango instead of peaches. I used chicken stock instead of beer and used the whole can of black beans as others had mentioned before. I served with white rice and a side salad and was overall pleased with this recipe. I will definitely modify for the next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This was delicious! It moved me to write my first review. It was very easy to make, too! I didn't use the corn meal because we didn't have any at home and other reviews said they liked it better that way anyway. The flavors were a great combination, including the peaches. I'm sure fresh peaches would be great too, but canned peaches might be softer! I used the whole can of black beans instead of half, and next time, I think I'll ad more meat. I think chicken would be great for this recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I seem to be in the minority with my opinion of this recipe. My guest and I found it to be very bland and boring... we kept asking each other what more could be added to coax some flavor out of it. Definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
We really loved this dish. I used the full can of beans and added 1/4 cup of extra beer to compensate. We used Chi Chi's hot salsa and the peaches balanced the spice beautifully. Served over cous cous. Excellent! Pork came out tender and the cornmeal crust really was unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States