Pork with Peach and Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was good for something different, but I wasn't thrilled with the texture of the cornmeal. I also wish I hadn't drained the peaches. I think it could have used a little extra sauce. I might try it again, minus the cornmeal, adding a little of the peach juice, and possibly a little spice... Maybe red pepper or cayenne?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
the corn meal made the dish very mealy.... i seasoned the tenderloin with a mango habanero rub and used one can of peaches, one small can of crushed pineapple, and a full can of black beans with a heffewiesen beer and it was DELISH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This is one of the best pork dishes ever. The cornmeal coating on the meat provides a thicker, rich sauce. We enjoyed it served with couscous. And it tastes just as good the second time reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
We didn't care much for this recipe; the consistency was a little strange, and the peaches didn't taste right with the other ingredients. We would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
I am a very inexperienced cook, but I wanted to try something different so I gave this a shot. I did everything according to the recipe except I used an entire can of black beans and extra cilantro. It also took a lot longer for my pork to cook properly, but I chalk that up to my inexperience. So I had to add a lot more olive oil to keep it from burning. I had no problems with the corn meal. I made sure the pan was hot enough so that it was crispy and didn't get mushy. Soooo good. I wish I had used a hotter salsa, it would have made for an interesting flavor. I served it with wild rice and it was AMAZING. I also used Bud Light Lime. I can't believe it turned out so well. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Loved it. Very tasty. However, my kids thought that it would have been just as good without the peaches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Followed the recipe to a "T" and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
I had a hard time with this one, but I was optimistic and thought I would give it a try. My daughter loved it. I thought it was okay, and my husband didn't say much. I made it as the recipe called for, but if I make it again I will have to tweek. The first time I ate it, it was good, but I had some leftovers the next day and had a hard time stomaching it. I think it was the look, and the fact that the beans went to mush. I may just eliminate the beans all together next time. we'll see. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
This recipe is so easy and so delicious. I am a big fan of cooking with alcohol and fruits and this is what attracted me to this recipe. I used coarse cornmeal and gave an interesting texture. This one is keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Wonderful recipe, and so easy. Used chicken tenderloins since we don't eat pork. Listened to the other reviewers and used a hot salsa. Herdez Medium, which is actually pretty hot, gave lots of flavor and just enough kick. Used chicken broth in place of the beer, omitted the cornmeal, used the whole can of black beans, and added lots more cilantro. My boys loved it (ages 19 and 11). Will definitely make again and again. Great with rice. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States