Pork with Peach and Black Bean Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Hot oil is key and browning on all sides of diced pork to get the cornmeal to stick and not go into the sauce. I doubled the salsa, beer, and "reserve liquid" b/c we like things saucy and made rice to put it on top of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I feel that the cornmeal greatly declined the quality of this recipe. I read other reviews and took the time to make sure the cornmeal created a nice crispy crust, but once the other ingredients were added, the cornmeal crust began to breakdown. The sauce became grainy. I didn't like the texture one bit, but the taste was pretty good. Will try this one again without the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
After reading many reviews, here's my take: This recipe produces a sweet and savory taste unexpected for chunks of pork. The cut of meat doesn't really matter as long as you cook the pork thoroughly (no pink!): chops, cubed roast or tenderloin. I used the cornmeal and followed other cooks' recommendations to get the oil HOT, turn meat once seared/browned on each surface/side (you need to be "hands on" for about 15 min.). Once nicely browned, add peaches, black beans, salsa....salt and ground pepper to taste. Then put a lid on your skillet and let it simmer (doesn't dry out). Served this with the Maple Glazed Sweet Potato w/bacon and carmelized onions from this site....a lovely pairing of tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
It was okay, but I don't understand what all the fuss is about. It wasn't as amazing as I'd expected from all these reviews. I suspect I might have used a too-spicy salsa, since it overpowered the other flavours a bit, but the other flavours themselves still weren't that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Super easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Cut peaches in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was a good dish. Something a little different than what I am used to. But I did enjoy it. The flavor from the peach was what I enjoyed most. Not a dish I would ask for on a regular basis, but would enjoy once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Just didn't do anything for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States