Pork with Clams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Made this for my Portugese boyfriend. He said it was great and liked it better than his own. He especially loved the sauce, only wished there was more of it. Needs more cilantro than called for. (1/2 cup or more)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Great recipe. Thank you for the ingredients. I M PORTUGUESE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I used mussels instead of clams. Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
I'm Portuguese and now live in Portugal, so this dish is made often in our home. I use olive oil instead of margarine, and serve it with cubed fries and some olives for garnish and chopped pickeled mixed vegetabels. sprinckeled over top, with lots of chopped cilantro, its soooooo good!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My family also does not make this with Tomato. Every Christmas eve I look forward to this meal, it is the only time of the year that we make it. I think that thing I love most about this dish is that my Dad always tells the history of this dish. It was invented in Portugal during the Spanish Inquisition. It proved that you were Christian because if you were a Jew you would not eat the pork (Or Clams) and if you were an Arab you would not eat the Clams. From there it turned into the must have dish for Christmas Eve in all Portuguese Households. Traditionally it is served with cube fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Great! My family loves the delicate combination of flavors... I also used the olive oil instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Salvador, San Salvador, El Salvador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
I made this for dinner one night it turned out wonderful! My 8 year old wasn't too thrilled, but the adults were very pleased!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2001
Easy and delicious dish! I adapt it to how my family makes it (I am Portuguese) and take out the tomatoes and add some olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

See how to make Italian-style baked pork chops.

Grecian Pork Tenderloin

See how to make a zesty, Greek-inspired marinade for grilled pork tenderloin.

Burgundy Pork Tenderloin

An easy but elegant pork roast cooked in a rich red wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States