Pork Tenderloin with Balsamic Plum Reduction Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
My fiance just raved all through this meal! changes I made: I cooked the meat according to the recipe, but added a couple slices of plums to the skillet where the meat seared in the beginning. For the sauce, I used 1 apple (skinned) and 1 plum, less than 1 T br sugar, 1 T honey, 2 T balsamic, and a spoonful of natural apple and plum puree. I cooked this down for about 30 minutes and did not use a blender. There were still soft chunks of apple left and it was pretty thick. more like a confit or chutney than a sauce. The great thing about this recipe is that there is a lot of down time (meat cooking, plums reducing) so you can really make a whole meal in 45 minutes. I served with homemade mashed potatoes and sauteed asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelisabet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
Awesome! Goes great with pork chops and garlic mashed potatoes. I added some fresh grated ginger to mine and simmered it for a lot longer than the recipe says (about 20 min or so). I ended up adding a little cornstarch at the end to thicken it up because it was taking a while to get to the consistency that I wanted (more like apple sauce). My husband loved this dish and we will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
A fantastic addition to our rotation of quick and easy but tasty meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Not crazy for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
I had a pork roast on hand, so I made a crock pot pulled pork to have with the sauce. So good! The sauce is amazing with the pork. Will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
An easier way to make the sauce is to peel the plums - that way, you don't have to mess up a blender and spend time cooking the sauce twice. I also throw in a small handful of blueberries for some extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan in Dallas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
The only thing I did differently was double the sauce ingredients, except for the plums, and I left out the blueberry juice as I didn't have it on hand. This is one of our favorite new dishes. Thank you for sharing it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This recipe is wonderful! I live in a small town and fresh fruits are not plentiful. I used canned plums and it turned out great! This recipe makes me look like I can cook. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Amazing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This was incredible! I used exactly what the recipe called for, but decided to double the sauce ingredients minus the plums (read in a previous review). The balsamic gave the sauce a wonderful bite, and kept it from being overwhelmingly sweet. I did not add the optional blueberry juice, but I would have if I had it. It's also a nice choice because it's not too labor intensive: once the pork goes into the oven, it doesn't take very long for the sauce to reduce properly. All in all, an deceptively simple meal that yields the look and taste of a restaurant quality dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States