Pork Tenderloin with Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
We tried this recipe tonight, and it was quite good. I did a couple of things differently though: I used a 1 1/2 pound tenderloin, and for the vinegar I used half balsamic and half white (I was out of cider vinegar). I didn't want the pork to dry out, so I covered it for the last 10 minutes of cooking. Next time I would slice the tenderloin and mix it in with the apples and sauce - that would warm it up a bit and coat the pork as well, since much of the sauce cooks away. As a side note, the apple sauce would be amazing on top of vanilla ice cream or french toast! It is absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This recipe was excellent and very easy to make. I used pork chops because they were on sale that week. You can use any cut of pork and simply adjust the cooking time accordingly (use a meat thermometer if you aren't sure). Use whatever white wine you have around...I didn't have the one named, but it still turned out great. The apple sauce was really great. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S*T*L*Y

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA
Living In: Brownsburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This was so good!!!! I took the suggestion and cut up the tenderloin into medallions at the end and cooked them in the apple mixture. I also doubled everything so there would be plenty of sauce - I highly recommend. I served with rice pilaf. A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Very nice flavor! I loved the smell that wafted through though house as I mixed together the apples, cinnamon and nutmeg. My only recommendation would be to brown both sides of the pork, making sure not to overcook..otherwise the meat will dry out. Set aside as directed and prepare the apple mixture. Then while apple mixure is simmering add the pork back into the pan, cover and cook for a few minutes on each side. Love, love, love the tender apples..mmmm.. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe was awesome! I only changed a few things. I doubled the apples because my family loves apples. I knew that part would go over big. I cooked it in my dutch oven instead of a skillet so I knew I had room for the extra apples. I also put the meat back into the apples (not cut into medallions) and put the pot on low until my husband got home from work -- probably an extra 45 mins or so. The meat was tender and juicy and cooked perfectly. The apples were awesome. I used 2 Ida Reds we will definitely have this again! Even my 17 year old daughter who pretty much hates meant loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Wow! I followed the recipe as written, with only two changes. Used a white wine that I had on hand and a small pork roast I had in the freezer. You can use whatever cut of pork you like as long as you adjust the cooking time accordingly. I recommend doubling the sauce as you'll want to slather your chops with it, or maybe keep some to top vanilla ice cream. Definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Loved this recipe did agree it was a bit sweet as written. So instead of a Riesling I used a Moscato, used agave instead of brown sugar and added a pinch of cloves to the fresh apples red delicious apples. I also doubled the sauce and glad I did as my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaseasmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I tried this tonight and after reading many reviews, also changed a couple of things. I seared the loin in the olive oil, but also caramelized onions with it. I placed it into the crock pot and once the wine/apple sauce was thoroughly simmered, I poured all of it into the crock pot with the loin and let it cook on low for 3 hours. The loin was moist and the sauce was delicious! Thank you, the family loved it and we'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Yes,it's easy and it is good,but,trust me,the optimum time for pork tenderloin is 20 minutes,not a second more. Oh yeh,after browning,cook it in the oven,not the pan, 180degrees for that 20 minutes. Just MHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Excellent pork tenderloin dish. Only change I made was to drop the wine (subbing with more stock), and adding a splash of spiced rum, WOW is all I have to say. Hubs raved, that's a feat unto itself. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States