Pork Tenderloin in Bourbon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I am just an average cook and when my husband took a bite of this I got an "Oh Wow!". I took the advice of others and made extra marinade so that I could turn into gravy. My kids, Mother in Law and husband devoured it. I had a small chunk of meat left over so I took it to work the next day. Not all that great as a left over but will make again as a main dish very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermilion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This was so easy to make and so good. grilled it for approx. 45 minutes. Guest who didn't even like pork, LOVED IT! May try this marinade on steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I followed the recipe until it said to discard the marinade. I put it in a small saucepan, removed the garlic & simmered it until it was reduced to syrup. When the tenderloin had 10 minutes of cooking time remaining, I glazed it with the reduced marinade. It gave it more flavor & a nice color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was tasty, I think next time I might double the marinade and try making a sauce like others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I had no bourbon so played around with this and it was So Good! To "replace" it I doubled the brown sugar, added 3 tsp-ish Bourbon vanilla extract, and added about 1/2 cup of coffee. The Bourbon vanilla has nothing to do with the liquor but is named after the plantations in France from which it comes. It has a smooth, smokey flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I made more marinade than this recipe called for so that i could make a gravy/sauce with it, as suggested by other reviewers. I made a couple changed to the marinade right from the get go.. just based on my taste. I used about 1/3c. gentleman jack whiskey (because that is what we had in the house) about 1/2c. soy sauce and threw in like 3 or 4 heaping tablespoons of brown sugar. Also, I put in 4 smashed garlic cloves. I marinaded for about 2 hours, put the marinade in a pot on top of the stove for the sauce then put the tenderloin in the oven for about 40 min. at 400 degrees.. For the sauce, I skimmed out the chunks of garlic cloves, then added about a tablespoon and a half of butter, and used a whisk to stir in flour until it was the consistancy I was looking for. I also added a bunch of water to dillute the taste. Overall, the meat itself was great. Very tender and juicy. However, the whiskey taste was overpowering, especially after putting the sauce on top. I will probably try this again, but I will only put in a couple tablespoons of whiskey so it isn't so strong. Otherwise it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffanytia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
There wasn't any left! Didn't have bourbon, so I substituted whiskey and it worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StephanieInNc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was really good. I marinated the pork for about 18 hours, used only 3 tbsp bourbon though. I also took other reviewers' advice and made a gravy from the left over marinade, which was great on top of the pork and garlic red potatoes I served with it, also from this site. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly, but wasn't a fan. My husband said it tasted like bananas. Maybe it was the bourbon I used? The flavor just wasn't what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
It was so gooood! My husband kept raving over it and he scraped his plate clean! I only tweaked this a little by increasing the brown sugar to 4 Tbs, the garlic to 3 cloves and threw in some fresh rosemary. Marinated for 4 hours and it took about 1.5 hours to cook in 325F oven. Served with the reserved marinating sauce by boiling it for 10 min and then adding 2 Tbs. of butter to the reduction. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZUEBEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Clarinda, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States