Pork Tenderloin alla Napoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
With all due respect to the submitter, I wouldn't describe the flavor of this dish "robust." I would, however, call the flavors subtle, balanced, and incredibly delicious. This doesn't make a whole lot of sauce, and while it was perfect for hubby and me, if you serve this with pasta and like LOTS of sauce, you might want to double the sauce ingredients. I prepared this nearly exactly as written, finding only that I needed to add a little extra wine to the pan to deglaze once it came out of the oven. Also, I did not use jarred green olives, but a fresh, deli olive mix which gave this a truly unique and authentic "Napoli" flavor. In addition, this is a dish to impress, perfect for company, that pleases the eye as well as the palate. Hubby is a man of few words, but I know what "make this again" means!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Very nice recipe - great flavor and easy to prepare. I doubled the sauce ingredients and added some slivered sun-dried tomatoes. I took the pork out when it reached 150 degrees, sliced it into thick medallions and added the meat to the sauce to finish cooking. This kept the pork very juicy and allowed it to absorb the flavors. Served it on a bed of angel hair pasta (which is why the extra sauce was needed). I arranged the pork medallions on the pasta and poured the sauce on top. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
WOW - if I could give this 20 stars, I would. I substituted evaporated milk for the cream and it was plenty rich. We served this over a small amount of whole wheat angel hair, and the flavor was amazing -- seriously tasted like something from a restaurant! I did find that I had to add quite a bit more wine as the pork cooked, as the pan really dried out. I could see even skipping the pork and using the sauce over pasta as a main dish for my vegetarian guests. THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
5 star plus - soooo easy and delicious. I followed recipe "almost" exactly! I had to substitute canned diced tomatoes which I drained a bit (it is winter and tomatoes in NJ are horrid!). Since there were only two of us I only used 1 tenderloin but used the ingredients for two. I am glad we did - there was nothing left! I served it with a butter and herb rice from Rice Roni. I will make this again, (quick and great for company). I now know to double the sauce ingredients when I cook two tenderloins. Thanks so much submitter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Sensational!!!! After reading some reviews I was expecting this to be good but it was far better than I anticipated. The pork was incredibly tender, probably the most tender I have ever had. I followed the recipe, but made a few adjustments according to what I had on hand. Tinned tomato, added some mushrooms and used light evaporated milk instead of heavy cream and it was great. Will be making this many more times, oh and I will be atleast doubling the sauce as it is sublime. Try this recipe its great. Many thanks to the submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
Great, great, great recipe! My husband and I loved this. So simple but the end result was fantastic. And I am not a green olive fan! I used canned tomatoes and half and half because I didn't have any heavy cream. I can only imagine how that would have tasted. Ymmmmm. We ate everything. Presentation was perfect. It was simple to create and the taste was gourmet. I would give this 100 stars if I could. Again, very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
awesome recipe! I add sliced onion and capers and mushrooms to the mix. 160 degrees was perfect for a medium to medium rare tenderloin. Very flavorful and easy to tailer to personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I browned some nice thick Butterfly Pork Chops in an iron skillet. I then added all the remaining ingredients except I didn’t have any heavy cream. Substitution: I ended up substituting the heavy-cream with ¾ Cup of 2% milk, 1 Tbls of sour cream, and a few pinches of corn starch to thicken the sauce a little. This recipe was delicious, and very tender!!!!! I served with side of elbow noodles, and spooned a little Napoli sauce over the noodles (any pasta will do.) A LITTLE SAUCE GOES A LONG WAY – VERY FLAVORFUL!! My husband loved this dish too; he said it tasted like a recipe straight out of Europe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This came out so good that my family couldn't believe that it was homemade (at first they thought I had ordered in from a restaurant what a compliment!)I fell in love with the tomato sauce. I used canned tomatos and some roasted bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilyana Duran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
This was soooooooo delicious. I tried it out as a family dinner, and even my 12 year old loved it, but certainly an awesome idea for a company dinner. Does well served over a bed of risotto. I used canned roma tomatoes, green olives with pimentos, and threw them in with the rosemary and garlic in the minichop to shorten chopping time. I also added the cream at the end to taste, and think I almost doubled it and cooked it a tad longer, but definitely do it by taste! I'd give this one a dozen stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Roasted Pork Tenderloin with Fresh Plum Sauce

Pork tenderloin roasted with firm fresh plums and caramelized onions.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States