Pork Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This was absolutely delicious! I had leftover pork roast so I didn't have the 2 cups of juice to simmer the pork in so I just used chicken broth. It turned out wonderfully but I would recommend cutting back on the cayenne pepper if you don't like things too spicy. I used diced tomatoes with jalepeno peppers since my family likes things really spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
My boyfriend is Mexican, and he absolutely loved this recipe. He ate almost half of it himself. The only thing different I did was added a little more garlic and chili powder. I served it with warm corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I really liked this recipe. It was easy enough to modify for my family. I wouldn't really say I changed it much. My pork was alredy previously roasted, I had to use frozen corn, and I plopped a little minced garlic in with the pork and chicken broth to simmer. Also used taco seasoning. I also added a small can of chopped green chilies when I mixed the pork and corn meal mixtues together. Also, I didn't use the juice from simmering the pork. I just put the pork in the mixture. Good recipe. my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Hubby says this is definately "A Make Again" recipe! YUMmmmm! About the only changes I made was: 1.) Added an extra egg, 1/2 c. more cornmeal & 1/4 c. more milk. 2.) I substituted 2 t. of 40% less sodium Taco seasoning for the spices, 3.) Used 1 can of lower sodium chicken broth, 4.) added a can of drained black olive slices (the little can) and 5.) Topped with shredded cheddar. VERY tasty! Will try again with beef chunks and another time with shredded chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Excellent. I used left cooked pork roast, so I could skip the roasting of the cubed pork. It was really quick. Instead of chili powder and cayenne pepper I used 1 packet of Lawrey's Taco seasoning. I also used 4 large fresh diced tomato's instead of canned. Even my two little ones loved it and they do not care for most Mexican style food. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Very good - used left over pork loin and took previous advise to use chicken broth. The broth is definately needed as the corn mixture becomes dense almost instantly when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This was fantastic. My family says it should be a staple meal of ours now! I slow-cooked my pork overnight (they were boneless pork chops), and I also used chicken broth like others recommended. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEYP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I was looking for a change from the usual chicken or beef and was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. My husband loved this as did our two boys. It tastes even better the second day. Being very busy, leftovers are my friend! I took the advice of Sunnyrutter and added extra egg, cornmeal and milk. Thank you Connie for submitting such a delicious casserole recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
This recipe takes the cake. It's a foolproof, quick, and a tasty filling meal. But I did cheat a little on the meat by substituting sliced then fried Bratwurst. I also kicked the spices up a notch with some Taco seasoning, and Frank's Red Hot. Topped with some grated Cheedar & Mozzarella then a dollop of sour cream to chase the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was a great alternative to making actual tamales. I did reduce the amount of cayene pepper which helped it to not be too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States