Pork Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My family loved it. I changed it a bit because of what I had on hand. I had leftover Dee's Roast Pork for Tacos and used that to simmer in beef broth. I used a can of Rotel tomatoes because we like it spicier. I didn't have a can of corn, so I used frozen. Because the recipe didn't state to drain some of the canned goods; I didn't. That seemed to work out just fine. I also took the suggestion and layered the pie: meat, corn mixture, and then topped with shredded mexican cheese (because we love cheese). YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTTERWELP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very good and quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lagrange, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I LIVE ALONE SO I USED THE CALCULATOR FOR 2. UNLESS YOU ARE USE TO COOKING WITH CORN MEAL IT COULD BE A PROBLEM (NOT KNOWING WHAT TO LOOK FOR AS THE MEAL COOKS). IT CAME OUT GREAT! WE ALL ADD OUR OWN TOUCHES. BUT AS WITH ONE PERSONS IDEA I ADDED CHEESE TO THE TOP BEFORE BAKING. THANKS OF THE TIP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prineville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I'm in the process of making this dish right now. I am kind of frustrated though, with the cornmeal mixture. I don't know what consistency I'm supposed to be looking for as it cooks for 20 minutes on the stove top, and what constitutes "too dry?!" I see that some other reviewers had the same question(s) as me. I am hoping that I did not just ruin a whole lot of wonderful tasting left over pork by trying this recipe. I took another reviewers advice and added 1/2 C more cornmeal and 1/4 C extra milk and 1 extra egg to the cornmeal mixture. I've been tweaking the recipe as I go along here (adding salsa per another reviewers advice.) I'm just afraid to mix the pork with this weird cornmeal concoction, because I don't know what the cornmeal is going to do once I put this in the oven...not impressed so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sopranosong67

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I really liked this recipe. It was easy enough to modify for my family. I wouldn't really say I changed it much. My pork was alredy previously roasted, I had to use frozen corn, and I plopped a little minced garlic in with the pork and chicken broth to simmer. Also used taco seasoning. I also added a small can of chopped green chilies when I mixed the pork and corn meal mixtues together. Also, I didn't use the juice from simmering the pork. I just put the pork in the mixture. Good recipe. my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Easy and tasty. Was a great way to use up some leftover pork from a roast. Since the pork wasn't cooked via this recipe, I added in some cumin, chopped jalapeno, garlic and other seasonings to make it more flavorful in the tamale realm. Topped it with cheese prior to baking for a crunchy topping. Served with rice and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgarlicky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eaglewing4031

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very good. I used leftover crockpot pork roast, and mixed ingredients into the leftover gravy. I also used salsa instead of the tomatoes- we like spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I hate to be a party pooper here but this recipe was one of the most awful concoctions I have ever..well, concocted! I did follow it exactly, and it turned out I suppose as it should...but honestly, it not only tasted awful it looked even worse. I had high hopes. Maybe just not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States