Pork Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Used a pre marinated pork loin (because that's what I had), cut into bite size pieces.. Placed them in a Pam sprayed crock pot, layered with cubed sweet potatoes.. Mixed remaining ingredients (substituted 1/3cup sweet vermouth for the cup of sherry) in a glass bowl, then poured over meat and potatoes. Cooked in low about 6 hours. House smells amazing and dinner was wonderful. Served with a green salad for side. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Excellent...did not add wine, and it was still very good. Savory and delicious. Takes a while to make, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baghdad Dave
Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This looked/read like it was gonna be great but it was just "ok" We seem to like our sweat potatoes separate :-/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
DEEEELicious side of brown rice-used chicken broth for liquid and added cranberries to the liquid and let it come to a boil. Used Marsala wine instead of Sherry. Great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Merlino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I seared the meat as directed in a large stoneware pot and put this in a separate dish while I used the same pot (without washing) to make the recipe, adding the meat back in before it went into the oven. Came out beautifully. Great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Wow! Did this tonight in the crockpot. Just threw everything in and put it on low for 8 hours. Turned it up to high for an hour to thicken with a bit more flour, and that was it. Super tasty. Everybody loved it. I used 2 teaspoons of each of the herbs, and threw in some bay leaves. Short on wine so used some water and chicken soup base. One of the best things I've made in the crockpot. Will be making this again regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
So good! I substituted boneless/skinless chicken breast, because I had some that needed to be cooked before it went bad. Since chicken doesn't yield as much fat or liquid as pork, I added more broth (approximately doubled) and added a tablespoon of butter. It turned out amazing! I can't wait to try it with pork. The dijon mustard combined with brown sugar is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
It was delicious! I didn't have any pork on hand so I used beef instead. I also didn't have brown sugar so I used organic sugar. Beef was nice and tender, stew had great flavor! I though it would turn out too sweet because of the sugar and the sweet potatoes but it surprisingly wasn't. Would make again for sure, especially around the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this with the ingredients I had on hand, but didn't have sherry (substituted extra chicken broth) or rosemary. It is still an excellent dish. I imagine it's better with the sherry & rosemary. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTRICIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is a keeper for me. The only change I made is to use 2 pounds of pork and 3 large sweet potatoes. Yummy on a cold winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States