Pork Sweet Potato Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
So good! I substituted boneless/skinless chicken breast, because I had some that needed to be cooked before it went bad. Since chicken doesn't yield as much fat or liquid as pork, I added more broth (approximately doubled) and added a tablespoon of butter. It turned out amazing! I can't wait to try it with pork. The dijon mustard combined with brown sugar is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
It was delicious! I didn't have any pork on hand so I used beef instead. I also didn't have brown sugar so I used organic sugar. Beef was nice and tender, stew had great flavor! I though it would turn out too sweet because of the sugar and the sweet potatoes but it surprisingly wasn't. Would make again for sure, especially around the fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this with the ingredients I had on hand, but didn't have sherry (substituted extra chicken broth) or rosemary. It is still an excellent dish. I imagine it's better with the sherry & rosemary. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTRICIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is a keeper for me. The only change I made is to use 2 pounds of pork and 3 large sweet potatoes. Yummy on a cold winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
OMG. The best! We had this on a cold, snowy day--12 inches of snow. It had great flavor and really warmed us up. The meat was so tender and the sauce was creamy and tasty. I didn't have sherry, so I used white wine. and I added some white potatoes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJAY23
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This is a delicious treat. I added a bit of cauliflower just for an additional veggie, didn't use the Dijon mustard simply because I don't like it. The stew came out great. Served with choice of as-is or over rice, complimented with dinner rolls and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Made this yesterday for my daughter's family, who are fussy eaters, they loved it. My daughter, who is a great cook, demanded the recipe. One small change, did not have either sherry or a white wine (we like the reds!!)grabbed a bottle of Merlot and used a generous dollop of that. BuggyBob
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
This got rave reviews. i didn't transfer my pork into another dish after browning it. (why dirty another bowl/dish?) I just pushed it aside in my ovenproof metal skillet and browned the onions and garlic, then used white wine instead of sherry to make a roux. The rosemary and thyme are a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States