Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Delicious, with wonderfully complex but balanced flavors. All the ingredients and seasonings come together and mellow into something uniquely its own. I loved the ingredients that went into this stew, loved making it, and Hubs and I certainly loved eating it! As all cooks should do, I seasoned this "to taste," upping the cumin to probably a couple of teaspoons, substituting Mexican oregano for the marjoram (have never used it!), backing off on the pepper to probably a teaspoon (you can always add it but you can't take it back out!) and subbing two, fresh poblano peppers for the canned green chilies - first, because I love 'em and second, because they're easier on Hubs' sensitive innards. Wanting to make sure the meat was good and tender, I simmered this for a good hour and a half - and it WAS buttery tender. This is intensely aromatic as it cooks, letting you know that what you're in for will be well worth the wait! I served this over plain white rice, with a dollop of sour cream, but I could easily see this wrapped in a tortilla too (that will be coming up with the leftovers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I added a few touches, and it's now on my monthley menu. 4 cloves garlic, 1 tsp. marjoram, 1 tsp. Mexican oregano, 2 tsps. cumin, made the sour cream and cilantro sprigs optional as I have dried for the stew, and served it w/ frijoles con queso (refried beans and cheese) heated, and warm flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bushman

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
OM gosh I can't wait to try this. Maybe tomorrow for SB sunday. I have everything on hand. Thanks Plato
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
UPDATE TO MY RECIPE: I've been substituting 1 cup chicken broth vs. the 1 cup water! YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLATO712

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This was very good! I made burritos with the mixture. I covered the burritos in green sauce and cheese and put them in the broiler. Was brilliant and the whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
We live in Tucson and love to cook Mexican food. I did this on the outdoor kitchen, grilling the meat first and used boneless country style ribs..it was fantastic with tortillas, they ate it all!! 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hal and carol
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Yum!!!!!!!Perfect as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I would love to rate this 10 stars for my very picky company. It was raved about. Good alternative for my usual Mex/Tex dishes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Yummmmo!! This was awesome! I made it exactly as instructed and it turned out amazing. Used the meat mixture for burro filling, then used the sauce to put over the top, with some shredded cheese and baked it just long enough to melt the cheese. mmmmm . . . good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Could not be better. Thanks for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States