Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Delicious, with wonderfully complex but balanced flavors. All the ingredients and seasonings come together and mellow into something uniquely its own. I loved the ingredients that went into this stew, loved making it, and Hubs and I certainly loved eating it! As all cooks should do, I seasoned this "to taste," upping the cumin to probably a couple of teaspoons, substituting Mexican oregano for the marjoram (have never used it!), backing off on the pepper to probably a teaspoon (you can always add it but you can't take it back out!) and subbing two, fresh poblano peppers for the canned green chilies - first, because I love 'em and second, because they're easier on Hubs' sensitive innards. Wanting to make sure the meat was good and tender, I simmered this for a good hour and a half - and it WAS buttery tender. This is intensely aromatic as it cooks, letting you know that what you're in for will be well worth the wait! I served this over plain white rice, with a dollop of sour cream, but I could easily see this wrapped in a tortilla too (that will be coming up with the leftovers!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
UPDATE TO MY RECIPE: I've been substituting 1 cup chicken broth vs. the 1 cup water! YUMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PLATO712

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
What a great recipe! I've made this several times and love it. One tip - I find that it tastes even better the day after it's made. When I make it for guests, I make it the day beforehand which not only makes it taste better, but also makes the day of entertaining much easier. I serve it with cilantro rice and tortillas. This is definitely a keeper recipe.... Thanks so much for submitting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I added a few touches, and it's now on my monthley menu. 4 cloves garlic, 1 tsp. marjoram, 1 tsp. Mexican oregano, 2 tsps. cumin, made the sour cream and cilantro sprigs optional as I have dried for the stew, and served it w/ frijoles con queso (refried beans and cheese) heated, and warm flour tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Bushman

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Yum! I used 2lbs of pork instead of 3, chicken broth instead of water, and oregano instead of marjoram, since that's what I had on hand, didn't change the rest of the amounts called for, and the recipe came out a tiny bit tart, but the supporting flavors were perfect. The tartness is due to the tomatillos I'm sure, which I'm not used to cooking with. Still, so delicious! I will definitely make this again. I used 2 tsp cumin, and since I had a 4oz can of diced green chiles, I left a little bit of seeds in when I diced up the jalapenos. I served this on top of rice, with tortillas on the side and our leftovers will be burritos. So good! Thank you for a wonderful recipe. **Update: I made this with 2 cans of diced tomatoes, drained (instead of tomatillos) and it was delicious! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
We live in Tucson and love to cook Mexican food. I did this on the outdoor kitchen, grilling the meat first and used boneless country style ribs..it was fantastic with tortillas, they ate it all!! 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hal and carol
Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe!! I followed the recipe except for the cumin...I added 2 tsp, and the diced green chilis...I used 2 seven oz. cans. I also used 3 chopped serranos instead of the Jalapenos. Other than that, I stuck to the recipe. It turned out amazingly well. Stir it quite often while simmering or it will stick to the bottom of your pot. Thanks for posting Plato. We will enjoy this stew over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joe
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was great. I had never really had anything like it before. It was more work than the types of things I normally cook, but it was well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I made this for my girlfriend last night and she loved it but next time we do this, we are going to try adding an extra can of green chiles to the recipes for extra bite and absolutely add jalapeno. As toppers if putting on tortillas: Diced Tomato Diced Green Onion Shredded Monterrey Jack Cheese Steamed Rice Sour Cream Lime Wedges to squeeze on finished product
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
What an awesome dish! Definetly going to be made again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States