Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Yes, yes yes! This may be my standby recipe for green chile! It takes less than 1 hour 50. I cooked it for 45 and it only took me about 1/2 hour to prep! I altered the recipe for the ingredients I had and it was still great! I did not miss the cilantro that I did not have. I put in oregano and it was yummy all the same. Even my picky boyfriend loved it! Yeah! I will save so much money with this recipe because it is better than my favorite mexican restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great recipe the only change I made was added some red tomatoes. We don't like it so tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
We really enjoyed the flavors of this dish! Very easy & smelled great while cooking. Served over white rice with tortillas on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was a fantastic dish! Served with tortillas and usual "fajita" sides and made the spanish rice from this site and a side of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was a great recipe. The family loved it and is already asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Fey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
DE. LI. CIOUS. That is all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This chili verde was just ok. I followed the recipe pretty closely but was just not blown away. My husband is mexican and he wasn't that impressed with this either. I will make this again but will use another recipe I found. Next time I make this I will roast the tomatillos and garlic and then blend it along with the cilantro. We like our food spicy and this wasn't spicy enough for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Culver City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I love this recipe! I omitted the salt because I cook low-sodium. It was a little too hot for me, so I will probably reduce the pepper next time. I will definitely make this again. Thanks! Update: I have made this many times and truly love it. If I can't get low sodium pork at the store, I make this with chicken. Not sure it's authentic Mexican that way, but it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Needs much more salt than the recipe calls for, but is great! I didn't find this to be a very effortful recipe; the worst part was trimming all the fat of the pork. I used this as my entry at a workplace Mexican-themed cook off, and it took first for taste, even without garnishes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kxo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This is great just as it is! ( 2cups of tomatillos is 2 lbs. fresh) A whole lot of "testing" done by family as it cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States