Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This recipe was phenomenal! I loved the flavors! Tomatillos are great - but I don't find enough recipes to use them often. Very easy to make - I did everything on the stovetop, but I could see adapting it to use a crockpot. --First time, we ate this over plain Basmati rice and really enjoyed it like that. Then we ate if for dinner in tortillas, taco style... what a hit that was! This would be a great crowd-pleasing recipe, especially in the wintertime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I just made this for dinner and added a hobinaro too. It was so delicious! Next time im going to make a bigger batch and freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Muy Delicioso! Use 5-6 tomatillos if you likey the tomatillos (and don't wanna guess how many makes 2 cups). Plus, use the juice from the green chiles can and cut the water back to a splash (~1/4 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
BETTER THAN ANY RESTAURANT CHILI VERDE, EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
FAN-tactic!! Used fresh roasted pablanos and Anaheim peppers instead of the canned chilies (2 of each). Served over white rice with sour cream and crushed tortilla chips. Thanks for sharing this totally delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Fabulous! My hubby's favorite dish at our Mexican Restaurant is carne de puerco. He thinks this is just as good if not better. My only change would be to cut the pork into bite size cubes so that it works better w/tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chipley, Florida, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Yes, yes yes! This may be my standby recipe for green chile! It takes less than 1 hour 50. I cooked it for 45 and it only took me about 1/2 hour to prep! I altered the recipe for the ingredients I had and it was still great! I did not miss the cilantro that I did not have. I put in oregano and it was yummy all the same. Even my picky boyfriend loved it! Yeah! I will save so much money with this recipe because it is better than my favorite mexican restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great recipe the only change I made was added some red tomatoes. We don't like it so tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
We really enjoyed the flavors of this dish! Very easy & smelled great while cooking. Served over white rice with tortillas on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
This was a fantastic dish! Served with tortillas and usual "fajita" sides and made the spanish rice from this site and a side of pinto beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States