Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Very tasty Chile Verde. I used pork shoulder/butt, removed all the fat and cooked it in a dutch oven. I wound up with pork cracklings that I lightly salted. I ate them all right then and there!! I fried the pork cubes in the lard that rendered, making the pork extremely tasty since I fried it in its own fat. I used 2 cups chicken broth and half marjoram and half oregano and simmered it for 1 1/2 hours. Delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Order this dish often when I eat out. Decided to try it and was totally thrilled with the results. Plenty left over for breakfast with eggs over easy, delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Cruz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I added 3 roasted poblano peppers in place of the green chiles . Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I made this for supper and was hesitant too, because my husband told me when we were dating that he strongly disliked Mexican food (I happen to love it). When I made it, he never said a word during dinner, which is odd for him. At the end of his bowl, he said "wow, I could actually live in Mexico, that was so good!" and I replied back "I was worried you didn't like it because you were so quiet." He responded back with "Well, yeah, if I started talking I would have to quit eating!" So, yeah, I would say this recipe is a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JohnE12
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Wow! We made this today and it was really good. It has a nice heat the comes in a little later, which is really nice. We served in a bowl with Queso cheese and avocados on top and a sprig of Cilantro. We also had lightly cooked corn tortillas and cervesa on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
One of my favorite recipes! Love to serve it with cilantro lime rice (like Chipotle.) Freeze half of it for an easy meal on a busy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Delicious! Did not have marjoram so used Oregano. Served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Kahla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This got rave, rave reviews from my DH! He recently discovered his love for salsa verde. We usually aren't big pork eaters, but this was a HUGE hit. (I'm anxious to try it with chicken.) Ended up using a jar of salsa verde I had on-hand instead of making it from scratch, so it made it a really easy recipe. A+++. We were happily eating it for days -- because it made a LOT. Delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
As recipe was written except I used 2 cups chicken broth. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA
Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
wonderful! simmered on low for two hours pork was so tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States