Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I made this for supper and was hesitant too, because my husband told me when we were dating that he strongly disliked Mexican food (I happen to love it). When I made it, he never said a word during dinner, which is odd for him. At the end of his bowl, he said "wow, I could actually live in Mexico, that was so good!" and I replied back "I was worried you didn't like it because you were so quiet." He responded back with "Well, yeah, if I started talking I would have to quit eating!" So, yeah, I would say this recipe is a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JohnE12
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Wow! We made this today and it was really good. It has a nice heat the comes in a little later, which is really nice. We served in a bowl with Queso cheese and avocados on top and a sprig of Cilantro. We also had lightly cooked corn tortillas and cervesa on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
One of my favorite recipes! Love to serve it with cilantro lime rice (like Chipotle.) Freeze half of it for an easy meal on a busy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Delicious! Did not have marjoram so used Oregano. Served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Kahla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This got rave, rave reviews from my DH! He recently discovered his love for salsa verde. We usually aren't big pork eaters, but this was a HUGE hit. (I'm anxious to try it with chicken.) Ended up using a jar of salsa verde I had on-hand instead of making it from scratch, so it made it a really easy recipe. A+++. We were happily eating it for days -- because it made a LOT. Delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
As recipe was written except I used 2 cups chicken broth. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA
Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
wonderful! simmered on low for two hours pork was so tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This goes to 11! Good Lord Almighty! This is the best thing I've ever made...seriously (at least my family said so, anyway, even over my beef stroganoff). I've had this at various Tex-Mex restaurants and they do not even come remotely close. I made only a few tiny changes out of necessity. I used chicken broth instead of water at the cook's suggestion. I only had one teaspoon of marjoram left to use, so I threw in a teaspoon of Mexican oregano. It was taking so long to tenderize the pork so I added a another 1/3 cup or so of chicken stock to keep it from completely drying out. It kept reducing even more and still not tender enough (yes, this was even on low heat). I then added about 1/2 cup of dry white wine. Took at least 1 hr 15 mins if not an hour and a half to cook the pork down to fork tenderness. The wine added acidity to an already wonderfully rich dish. I served this over white rice. This is going straight to the front of the Mexican/Tex-Mex recipes in my personal cookbook. Amen to you PLATO! You rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
We love this recipe! I have developed a Boston Butt roast (pork shoulder) ritual. I bake or boil the roast on day 1 and serve with potatoes/carrots/onions. Day 2 I use the leftovers to make this fabulous recipe. Day 3 I use THOSE leftovers to fill burritos. Yummy X3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Buchanan Calkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
From LA, Ca and Mexican food is my comfort food. My sister and husband were blown away. Delicious and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States