Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Very tasty Chile Verde. I used pork shoulder/butt, removed all the fat and cooked it in a dutch oven. I wound up with pork cracklings that I lightly salted. I ate them all right then and there!! I fried the pork cubes in the lard that rendered, making the pork extremely tasty since I fried it in its own fat. I used 2 cups chicken broth and half marjoram and half oregano and simmered it for 1 1/2 hours. Delicious. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Order this dish often when I eat out. Decided to try it and was totally thrilled with the results. Plenty left over for breakfast with eggs over easy, delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Cruz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
I added 3 roasted poblano peppers in place of the green chiles . Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I made this for supper and was hesitant too, because my husband told me when we were dating that he strongly disliked Mexican food (I happen to love it). When I made it, he never said a word during dinner, which is odd for him. At the end of his bowl, he said "wow, I could actually live in Mexico, that was so good!" and I replied back "I was worried you didn't like it because you were so quiet." He responded back with "Well, yeah, if I started talking I would have to quit eating!" So, yeah, I would say this recipe is a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JohnE12
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Wow! We made this today and it was really good. It has a nice heat the comes in a little later, which is really nice. We served in a bowl with Queso cheese and avocados on top and a sprig of Cilantro. We also had lightly cooked corn tortillas and cervesa on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
One of my favorite recipes! Love to serve it with cilantro lime rice (like Chipotle.) Freeze half of it for an easy meal on a busy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Delicious! Did not have marjoram so used Oregano. Served over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Kahla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
This got rave, rave reviews from my DH! He recently discovered his love for salsa verde. We usually aren't big pork eaters, but this was a HUGE hit. (I'm anxious to try it with chicken.) Ended up using a jar of salsa verde I had on-hand instead of making it from scratch, so it made it a really easy recipe. A+++. We were happily eating it for days -- because it made a LOT. Delicious over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
As recipe was written except I used 2 cups chicken broth. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA
Living In: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
wonderful! simmered on low for two hours pork was so tender!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States