Pork Scaloppini with Mustard Creme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
The mustard gave it a bit of a tang that was very good in taste. I added a few things and it was really excellent. (1.) I used boneless pork chops and cut them in strips about 1/4 inch wide. (2.) I added 2 cloves of minced garlic to the butter before adding the pork. (3.) I didn't have any burgundy so I used red wine instead. (4.) I added a diced medium onion to the wine and let that cook. (5.) Before returning the pork back to the skillet, I added a can of diced petite tomatoes. It really turned out great and everyone that ate it just loved it. I had no leftovers at all. The next time that I make this I will add some celery and green peppers to it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Great recipe. Very tasty. I also used garlic with the butter when browning the pork and subsituted red wine for vermouth as the earlier suggested, but I did not add any onions or tomatoes. After I added the cream and mustard I let the mixture simmer about another 15 min to further reduce it. Served it over egg noodles and it was great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Okay, now I didn't doctor this much ... just by necessity: I didn't have cream so I used canned evaporated milk, as I often do in a pinch. (That's why I keep it in the house.) The first time I made it I just decided on it at the last minute as a way to use the pork I had thawed - huge hit. HUGE. Tonight I needed inspiration for dinner ... and no thawed pork ... so I made this with chicken. Again, huge hit. REALLY huge. Will become a staple. And yes, I use vermouth. This recipe is a good reason to keep it in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
This was delicious. We were looking for something different.Used canola oil, half and half, garlic,loved the vermouth. I think wine sub would be fine too! YUM we were looking for more after the pan was empty! try it- very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I couldn't wait to make this recipe - I love mustard sauces...but this was a disappointment. It should have been called Pork with Allspice Sauce. You better really like the taste of allspice to appreciate this - or I would suggest adding it in small quantities and adjust to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is so quick and easy. I substitute red wine for the vermouth (only because I don't keep vermouth on hand)and use WAY less allspice- between 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. The flavor is delicious. I like to serve it with buttered noodles and peas. Great for a weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was really good; I'll make it again but will add fresh garlic next time. Also, don't forget the salt! It needs it! It wasn't saucy, which I was expecting it to be (so I used 8oz of whipping cream rather than 4 oz). I would also like about 1/4 cup of lime juice vs. 1 T. I just made my own honey mustard with about 1 tsp of mustard and 1 T honey. Served over egg noodles. I think it would also be good to brown the entire tenderloin in a pan, bake it in the oven, slice it and serve the sauce oven. It was a lot of work dredging in flour and pan frying 2 batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I actually baked the pork chops first in the oven with shake and bake. Then made the sauce as calls for in the recipe and just drizzled over the top when done. It was awesome, and a really quick dinner option!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I've made this several times and it turns out great every time! The layers of flavor work well together. The allspice and mustard balance each other beautifully, and the rest pull it all together. I wouldn't change a single ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jeanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Very good! This came together so quickly and tasted very gourmet. I used savignon blanc instead of vermouth and dijon mustard instead of yellow. I also just used a T of honey instead of honey mustard. And, I used more like 1 pound of pork. I served over egg noodles. It doesn't make a ton of sauce but I wasn't expecting it to be 'saucy', just a nice drizzle of sauce over each serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHMCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States