Pork Sausage and Cabbage Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This was great but skipped the pita and served with potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Personally, I give it 5 stars for flavor, but the rest of the family was very unimpressed. Scaled the recipe to 4 servings which allowed me to use 1 lb sausage and one bag of prepackaged cole slaw. I cut the red pepper flakes in half and very glad I did - still pretty spicy, but perfect for my taste. I thought the filling was so good that the pita was unnecessary - I enjoyed it as a one skillet meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Wow...I just finished cooking this up, and although I haven't put it all together yet, the cabbage and sausage individually taste great! Together, I can only imagine how wonderful they will go together! (I'm just waiting for my husband to get home with the pitas so we can eat!) The only things I tweaked was using hot italian sausage and add some maple syrup when browing the meat. Delicious recipe! Thanks for sharing! (Guess we'll see what my biggest critics think!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Personally, I didn't think it had much flavor besides the heat in the red pepper flakes. I did use turkey sausage and low fat sour cream, maybe it would be better with the fully loaded stuff. Thanks for sharing though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This was surprisingly - really, really good! Wow, it makes a lot. And, it's extremely filling - we had leftovers for days. I may freeze some of it next time, because it can get old. I'll definitely be keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This was delicious, fast, and easy. We didn't have pita bread so we just used toast and it was still yummy. We also added about a 1/4 cup more sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyStardust09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
These were really good, something different. I did jazz it up a little to suit our tastes - but not too much, it's a nice simple dish. Thanks for the recipe - I never really think about pita, and now I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I love this! I also cut the pepper in half. I found this recipe when I made pita bread using Peppys pita bread recipe found here as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SYNEVA B
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
My husband and I both enjoyed this recipe. I make my own Italian sausage using the "Hot Italian Sausage" recipe from Jim Wyllie that is posted on this site. That's an excellent recipe. I just scale it down to 1 pound of sausage since the original recipe makes twenty pounds. The only thing I would change about this recipe is use less red pepper flakes. 1 Tablespoon was too much even though we like spicy foods. It meant the main flavor was hot. It's actually tasty so you want to taste the other flavors. It's very quick and easy for supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe! Seems strange until you try it but it has become a staple meal in our house. I use turkey sausage and it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States