Pork Sausage and Cabbage Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Very good and unique taste! I used 1 lb of regular pork sausage and 1/2 of maple pork sausage. Once mixed together, the combo produced a very nice, subtle sweet taste! Also, I used a pkg of colesalw cabbage and less red pepper flakes. I was skeptical about the sour cream but it really brings this dish together! Served in "Peppy's Pita Bread" from this site and the way these were devoured, I'd wager that lunch was a hit! Thanks for the neat idea Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
I must admit, when I first read this recipe I was a little aprehensive. I'm not a big fan of cabbage and neither are my kids. But, my husband found it and it reminded him of an old recipe his mom used to prepare. So we tried it...and we absolutely loved it! Even the kids went back for more. Next time I'll probably make a little extra so I can pack for lunch the next day. Another great one to add to the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Great, fast and tasty recipe. BUT, watch the red pepper. Thankfully I read the reviews before making this and only added 1 teaspoon of red pepper and it was still too hot for the kids to eat! We like spicy foods, but even cutting down the amount of pepper it was still spicy. The taste was a great combination. And it was such a quick recipe to make. I WILL make it again, but only add a pinch of red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
holy !!! my mouths on fire!!! tone down the red pepper or buy a whole gallon milk for this recipe......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Nice flavor and soooo easy. My hubby loves bierrocks and these are alot like them with less bread. I used Peppys Pita Bread because I had no pita pockets in the house. Some folks may find this filling a little rich with so much sausage, I cut the richness by using half ground beef with half sausage. Thanks Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Very simple recipe. It turned out great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
We sure love this one! My oldest daughter loved it so much that she made it for her boyfriend and he asked for a copy of the recipe. Thanks Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2001
Great recipe. Goes great with venison sausage. I have already passed this recipe on to two others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was so easy to make and super tasty. It didn't sog up the pita bread like I thought it might which is good. Didn't use as much crushed pepper, start with a little then adjust or you'll be LIT UP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Great flavor and easy to make. Good for a different dinner dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States