Pork Sausage and Cabbage Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Holly, I thought your receipe was just great. I used turkey sausage instead of pork, used Splenda instead of "real" sugar and used only 1/2 tsp. of the red pepper flakes. The turkey sausage was also high in cholestral, but felt it would take away from your recipe if I didn't use any at all. Going to e-mail this to my daughter who is on the Atkins diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This was interesting. I'd just received an e-mail saying how good cabbage is for you, so I thought I'd give it a try. I added some poultry seasoning and a dash of mustard. The combo of the sausage and sugar made it have a tasty sweetness. My 7 year old refused to even try it. My eight year old tried it but that was it. My husband ate a double serving PLUS the kids uneaten food. AND he's taking the leftovers for lunch today. To each their own, I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI KENNELLY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
Great, fast and tasty recipe. BUT, watch the red pepper. Thankfully I read the reviews before making this and only added 1 teaspoon of red pepper and it was still too hot for the kids to eat! We like spicy foods, but even cutting down the amount of pepper it was still spicy. The taste was a great combination. And it was such a quick recipe to make. I WILL make it again, but only add a pinch of red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
holy !!! my mouths on fire!!! tone down the red pepper or buy a whole gallon milk for this recipe......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Very good and unique taste! I used 1 lb of regular pork sausage and 1/2 of maple pork sausage. Once mixed together, the combo produced a very nice, subtle sweet taste! Also, I used a pkg of colesalw cabbage and less red pepper flakes. I was skeptical about the sour cream but it really brings this dish together! Served in "Peppy's Pita Bread" from this site and the way these were devoured, I'd wager that lunch was a hit! Thanks for the neat idea Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
Nice flavor and soooo easy. My hubby loves bierrocks and these are alot like them with less bread. I used Peppys Pita Bread because I had no pita pockets in the house. Some folks may find this filling a little rich with so much sausage, I cut the richness by using half ground beef with half sausage. Thanks Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was so easy to make and super tasty. It didn't sog up the pita bread like I thought it might which is good. Didn't use as much crushed pepper, start with a little then adjust or you'll be LIT UP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Very easy and tasty!! We have also tried it without the sausage to cut down on cholestrol, still very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGIZ74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Great flavor and easy to make. Good for a different dinner dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Very simple recipe. It turned out great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States