Pork Sausage and Cabbage Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Very easy and really good. Added fresh garlic. Whole family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
We LOVED this recipe! I cut back on the red pepper a bit and used a bagged coleslaw mix. Only took 10 minutes to melt the cabbage down. Sour cream was excellent, stirred in. Had to push the husband away from the stove, he was eating out of the skillet. Pita bread was a nice change. Will have these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe, but used a little less red pepper (to play it safe). It tasted too much like the pork breakfast sausage, but we still enjoyed it. But, I found a simple tweak that made the flavor better balanced, more Mediterranean-like, and not so strongly tasting of breakfast sausage. I just used 1 12 oz. tube of Jimmy Dean Low-Fat sausage and 12 oz. of ground lamb. It's healthier, and I think it's tastier. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I really enjoyed these!!! I didn't change the recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Divya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
My whole family loved this! 4 stars because I personally think it needed tweeking: I used a 1 lb. tube of regular Jimmy Dean sausage, then 1 small head of cabbage, 2 small onions, and instead of the sugar, red pepper, and salt, I used seasoned salt to taste. I ended up using 1/2 cup sour cream. We will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe. If I cut down slightly on the pepper next time, my picky-eater children would even give it 5 stars. Will be added to the rotation - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I used hot italian sausage, and after reading the other reviews, only added one teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I added brown deli mustard to the pitas, and served with kettle chips. Absolute heaven. Thanks, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I was so surprised at how well this went over with the cabbage-haters in my family. It's frequently requested and because it's inexpensive, filling and very good, I make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Loved this at the time it was printed and made it many times. However other foods came along and I had lost my recipe. took some time to find it in my Allrecipe box. I made 3 copies and will put in different places. Won't get lost again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States