Pork Sausage and Cabbage Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
The first time I made this, I followed the recipe, but used a little less red pepper (to play it safe). It tasted too much like the pork breakfast sausage, but we still enjoyed it. But, I found a simple tweak that made the flavor better balanced, more Mediterranean-like, and not so strongly tasting of breakfast sausage. I just used 1 12 oz. tube of Jimmy Dean Low-Fat sausage and 12 oz. of ground lamb. It's healthier, and I think it's tastier. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I really enjoyed these!!! I didn't change the recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Divya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
My whole family loved this! 4 stars because I personally think it needed tweeking: I used a 1 lb. tube of regular Jimmy Dean sausage, then 1 small head of cabbage, 2 small onions, and instead of the sugar, red pepper, and salt, I used seasoned salt to taste. I ended up using 1/2 cup sour cream. We will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe. If I cut down slightly on the pepper next time, my picky-eater children would even give it 5 stars. Will be added to the rotation - thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I used hot italian sausage, and after reading the other reviews, only added one teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I added brown deli mustard to the pitas, and served with kettle chips. Absolute heaven. Thanks, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I was so surprised at how well this went over with the cabbage-haters in my family. It's frequently requested and because it's inexpensive, filling and very good, I make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hanover, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
Loved this at the time it was printed and made it many times. However other foods came along and I had lost my recipe. took some time to find it in my Allrecipe box. I made 3 copies and will put in different places. Won't get lost again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
These are great.I've made this several times since I found this recipe.Just make sure and use a good quality sausage. I thought the spiciness was just right.This recipe is worthy of my recipe binder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This was soooo good!!! & so easy to make! Since my boyfriend doesn't care for spicy foods, I cut the pepper content in half; it still was pretty hot so next time I'll omit the pepper. He said other than that he also really liked it & he is not easy to please! We look forward to having this regularly! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States