Pork Sausage and Cabbage Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
very easy to make and economical!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Siletz, Oregon, USA
Living In: Fruitland Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I freakin' love these things! I, too, utilized the pre-shredded "cole slaw" cabbage as I was in one of those "I need to make dinner but I also don't need to put in a lot of effort - or dirty a lot of dishes - to make said dinner happen." I also used half regular sausage and half ground beef, per some other reviewers' suggestions. I think the mixture is great by itself, but I think the bread makes it. The not-greatly-stocked grocery store I run to by work for emergencies didn't have pita bread, so I used some flat bread instead. My husband had his doubts, but then couldn't resist stealing a bite of mine when I wasn't looking. He is now a convert and this will be in my "feeling kinda lazy but not lazy enough to call the pizza guys" recipe file. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was good, but we ended up using honey on it at the table to make it one better. Thank you for an interesting take. We usually used chicken and stir fry veggies to fill our pitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Excellent Dish. As other recommended, we ate this with potatoes, but I am excited about trying it out tomorrow in a Pita. It had a little kick to it, but my kids, who don't like spicey food, ate it with no complaints. Wouldn't change anything and will definitely do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I had a head of cabbage from the garden & pound of pork sausage I needed to use, so I thought this looked like a simple solution. It was! The only thing that was even remotely "hard" was the effort in grating the cabbage--maybe 7 minutes. The first bite was alright & then it just seemed to get better & better with each bite! We used the new Earth Grains "Thin Buns" instead of pitas, but used halves & kind of wrapped them around the "filling" like a pita--fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Definitely use less red pepper, as many suggested! I used around 1 - 1.5 tsp; and it was perfect. Since I have a few in my family that are not crazy about onions, I used green onion (chives) instead. My entire family loved this recipe, even the ones who don't normally like cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Absolutely delicious! My husband said that the filling part of this recipe was one of the most delightful things he had ever put in his mouth. We don't use white sugar around our house (mostly use brown or raw), so I used brown in place of white sugar. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
My husband loved it. Me, not so much. I've never been a big fan of ground sausage anyway. To many conflicting flavors I thought. It needs a lot more cabbage. I give it three stars because of how much my husband enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sexy Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States