Pork Roast With The World's Best Pork Loin Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This was really great. I'm not a fan of pork loins because I always seem to dry them out and there is never much flavor but I gave it another whirl and WOW it was great. If you aren't a big fan on "hot" spices, cut back on the cayenne pepper. This recipe makes plenty of rub for additional meats so only use about half the amount for your roast. I had a 2 1/2 lb. top pork loin roast. I stuck the roast and the rub in a large ziplock bag...shook it up and let it sit in the fridge overnight. I then put it in the crockpot in the morning (don't add any liquid) on low and let it cook while I was at work for 8 hours and it was perfect. It fell apart and was very moist & juicy...and the house smelled great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOOZQ6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Soooo easy...any just dribbled olive oil on the roast, put apple juice in the bottom so it was setting in liquid and would not dry out...Served 23 people and they all wanted the recipe for the rub...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made this for me and my finace and we both agreed that it was the best pork loin we'd ever eaten! I used all the ingredients except for the ginger (which I was out of and so was our grocery store). I also cooked it out on the grill instead of in the oven. I covered half the grill with aluminum foil and put the charcoal on the other half. (the indirect heat method) I put the loin on the aluminum foil and two cans of opened beer over the coals to create moisture. I cooked it for a little over an hour turning it about every 15 minutes. Also, if you turn up the sides of the aluminum foil the juices stay around the loin which helped keep it juicy and tender. We were able to cut it with a fork! I also spread some fresh garlic over the top of the loin and closed the aluminum foil around it for the last 15 minutes of cooking. I am definately going to cook this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
The flavor of the rub was very good. My family enjoyed the taste. I added potatoes, carrots, bell pepper and onion to the pan half-way through the cooking time and the vegetables were delicious also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
I used this rub with a 6lb roast and tripled the recipe. I didn't have all the ingredients (dry mustard, cumin, paprika, & thyme) and eliminated the sugar and cayenne pepper... but it was still wonderful! I also poured a little olive oil on top. Next time I think I'll baste the roast as it's cooking to help distribute the tasty juices on top too (the bottom was saturated with the wonderful flavors while the top was good - but not quite as tasty). I cooked it to internal temperature of 170 degrees and the roast was tender and juicy! I definitely recommend this recipe! I'm sure it's wonderful with the ingredients I left out too :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This was the best homemade rub we have ever had. One hint though: We made gravy from the drippings...big mistake...WOW what a kick to it! Other than that, I can't wait to try it on chicken breast before it hits the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
YUM!!! wow, i was so impressed with this recipe. So many great flavours.I rubbed the marinade over a 2.5lb pork rib roast (looked similar to a rack of lamb) then i cooked it for approx 1hr and 15mins uncovered(until it reached 150 degrees in a 325 degree oven. I then took it out and tented some foil over it until it reached 160 degrees. (approx 10 mins) then i sliced it in between the rib bones and it looked just like a large lamb chop. It was AMAZING!!!5 Stars. My husband who doesn't care for pork or leftovers, ate it 3 days in a row and cleaned the plate! Very impressed with this recipe and since i only used 1/2 cup of the rub, i have enough left over to do 2 more roasts in the near future. Thankyou so much for sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Great flavor, good blend of sweet and spicy. Easy recipe to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I'd give this rub 6 stars if possible! It was absolutely with a doubt the best pork roast ever! All 5 of my guest thoroughly enjoyed it's flavor. I rubbed a 6lb pork shoulder and slow cooked it for 5 hours in my cast iron dutch oven. The pork was fork tender and the flavor was unbelievable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This is a great dry rub. I made this a few months ago and used it on a pork sirloin roast that I bought from Costco. The roast came out so tender and flavorful. This recipe is a keeper for sure. I stored the rest of the rub in an empty spice jar and have since used the rub on all kinds of various cuts of pork and chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States