Pork Roast with Tangy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe, and I have made this twice before, with the following changes: I quarter 4 medium sized sweet onions, about 8-10 small potatoes, and add a 1 lb bag of baby carrots. Then I pour the sauce over the whole thing and bake in a covered roasting pan for about 90 minutes. It is spectacular and gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David L. Wasson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is really good. My husband loved it! said it was the best pork loin he's ever tasted!! I followed everything except I used this Cranberry/Apple jam I received as a Christmas gift.. served it with jellied cranberry on the side, mashed potatoes and green beans.. Absolutely delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
The sauce for this recipe is great! Since I like a lot of spice, I doubled the dry rub recipe and it was still okay. I took the advice of others and used a little less ketchup (about 3/4 C) and I'm glad I did. I didn't quite have a full cup of Apple jelly so I put in about a tablespoon of apple juice to supplement the flavor which didn't really affect the recipe. I overcooked the roast because I used a timer and went the full 1 1/2 hrs; after that time, the roast was about 180 but I let it sit for the full 15 minutes so it didn't dry out too bad. Kids loved it and I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
WOW! Really? Who would of thought that this sauce would be so good! My hubby and kids really liked it. My hubby compared it to an asian sweet and sour sauce. he wants me to make some asian food with the rest of this sauce. I ALWAYS double my sauce in any recipe I do but his one you for sure don't need to! TIP ON COOKING PORK ROAST : You really should never depend on time when cooking a pork roast as there are too many variables and more likely then not it will come out overcooked and dry. If you don't have a meat therm. it is well worth the money to buy one. Ever since I bought mine I have NEVER overcooked a port roast. They always come out moist and perfect!!! I always pull my pork roast out at 155 cus it will continue to cook a little after you pull it out of the oven.... There is nothing worse then having a great recipe and having the meat come out dry and tough...I will for sure make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was AHHHmazing! Followed the recipe (reducing the ketchup just a tad) brushed some sauce on the pork, wrapped it in bacon, then poured the rest of the sauce over it and baked it. WOW! Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was really wonderful! The only thing I did differently was to decrease the ketchup to 3/4 of a cup as others suggested. Will definitely make this again, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERA1088

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is really good!! My family request it often we use it for pulled pork sandwiches or for chinese stir fry with vegetables either way it is a easy way to make several different kinds of dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
yum! we are not big pork fans but my husband won a pork roast at a meat raffle so I thought I'd give this a whirl and I'm glad i did! I used a little less ketchup, I overcooked the roast and glaze, didn't bother to mix in pan drippings, but it still tasted great! I might have to buy a pork roast just to make this again! its also very easy which is important w/a baby in the house, not quite a one handed operation but pretty close! served w/au gratin potatoes from a box and a can of green beans.. better than i expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fuzzball420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Center, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My 13 yr old made this and it was FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarahtwincities

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States