Pork Roast with Tangy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
My fiancee and I just made this for dinner and it was DELICIOUS! We put on a little more rub than the recipe instructed, and also poured more of the sauce over the roast to bake than was suggested. We loved it and will definitely be making it again! By the way, it smells HEAVENLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This is the second pork loin recipe I've tried and it is the best one so far. LOVED the sauce with this one and the flavor was good. Still not as moist as I would have liked but it could be that I'm must not used to cooking pork but I'll definitely try this one again.. maybe in the crock pot. It was a good Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I'm always a little dismayed when reviewers say how incredible the recipe is after they've altered it however with his particular recipe I found myself without apple jelly so I substituted Apricot jelly and a dash of apple juice. It turned out absolutely amazing! Everyone of my kids gobbled it up and were craving more and we have three very picky eaters. I will definitely be doing this one again, thanks to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Daddy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This pork roast came out so juicy and the sauce was a different twist on a traditional recipe. Even my three year old ate it all, and he's a picky eater! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This was ok we weren't crazy about it. I followed the recipe exactly and the sauce was more of a glorified ketchup than anything. Don't think I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I also reduced the ketchup to 3/4 cup and used grape jelly, and made the following changes in the rub: I replaced the salt with seasoning salt, and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I also added pepper and onion powder. I put the roast on a cookie sheet and baked it in the oven on 250 for about an hour, then transferred it (cookie sheet and all) to the BBQ and smoked it until it was done (about 90 mins). About 15 mins before it came off of the BBQ, I brushed it with the sauce. It had a terrific smoky flavor that was hard to beat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
Very good! Cut down ketchup slightly, but other than that followed exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I like this recipe, but even after decreasing the ketchup to 3/4 cup, the sauce still tastes like a sweet ketchup sauce. I added 1/4 tsp. each of celery seed, onion powder, and black pepper to give it a little more of a barbecue sauce flavor. I would also recommend lining the pan with aluminum foil because after the glaze is brushed on the pork, it drips and burns on the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Phenominal. I also cut back on the ketchup (used ~3/4 cup) and doubled the rub. This is a great, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I had to use reduced sugar jelly (I have blood sugar issues) and the only kind I could find at the store was grape, so I used that. Also, I started basting the pork roast with glaze right away because I love that gooey, browned taste of glaze that it gets from the roasting process. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly except to add a little cayenne to the rub. I thought this was really good, but DH didn't care for the taste of the glaze. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States