Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
what a fantasic recipe! I made this for New Year's Eve and ate the leftovers on New Year's Day for good luck. I followed the recipe except that I also added a 1/2cup of Ginger ale and I also sprinkled caraway seeds on top of my sauerkraut. I had a four lb roast, so I browned it for 10 min, then cooked it on low for an hour and then high for 6 hours. It was still so juicy and tender the next day! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I made this for my husband and daughter who love German style food. I used a pork tenderloin instead of a roast and it was really good. Next time I may add some dark beer for some extra flavor. This will definitely stay on my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARLAA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chickasaw, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Delicious! Could have used a little less of the kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I followed the recipe, and added half a bottle of beer, as some others suggested. While the roast was indeed tender, we found the overall taste to be bland. The cooking method seemed to drain the kielbasa of taste too, and there was so much sauerkraut left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoffDNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
good recipe however i always add a can of beer also it takes the bitterness away thry it that way some time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
A fantastic dish that we served a 2 weekends ago as one of the main courses for our son & daughter-in-law's wedding rehearsal dinner. Everyone raved about this dish; the pork was so moist and tender. We'll be holding on to this simple yet terrific recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was easy and good. Plenty of food for my family of 6 (with 2 tweens!). 2 of my kids won't eat saurekraut but ate the sausage and pork. It was so tender it fell apart! I served with mashed potatoes. Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
don't get me wrong, it was good but not great. made pork in slow cooker before but not with a boneless pork loin, so it was pretty dry because it was so lean. also, the kielbasa took on a new texture after cooking for so long that you didn't want to eat it, I would cook and serve separately next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was very good and easy to make. I used home-canned sauerkraut(which I should have rinsed, it was a little too salty), and venison kielbasa with the pork loin. I also added in some baby carrots and omitted the thyme. I followed the directions to broil the pork loin before placing in the slow cookier and I'm glad I did. My pork was moist and flavorful. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
My first inclination was to give this only 3 stars but after it sat overnight it did taste better the next day. The only thing that really stood out about this was the Keilbasa, everythign else lacked flavor to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERA1088

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States