Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this recipe as is. It was simple to put together and very tasty. It was a big hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Simple & tasty! I added some raisins to the bottom layer of the sauerkraut for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Being from central Pennsylvania, I wanted to give this a try to see how it compared to what I'm used to having on New Years Day. I browned the pork loin in a skillet rather than the oven (didn't feel like dragging out the roasting pan). I used half the amount of sauerkraut called for (not a huge fan) and turkey kielbasa. I couldn't taste the thyme and might just leave it out altogether. The pork was very moist and tender, but the kielbasa was overcooked (would add maybe halfway through the cooking time). I like to add a little brown sugar or a shredded apple to the sauerkraut to offset some of the tang. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was awesome. I took suggestions from others and used brown sugar. I actually combined the brown sugar, salt, and cinnamon and put rubbed it into the pork. I also drained, but didn't rinse the sauerkraut. I used a bottle of beer instead. I will definitely make this again and again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I love sauerkraut and sausage in the crock pot. Adding the pork gave my kids another option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
this is a good dish ,we use to do in the oven and have mash potatoes with it. Had heard germans always rinse the sauerkraut because it is a brine. so i rinse it briefly to capture some of but not all of the sour taste. and i added baby red potatoes on top in the crock pot. yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Every bit a 5 star!!! As to the smell and bitter taste of the Sauerkraut, my Mother told me to alway's add a little sugar!! Every time I cook Kraut I alway's add sugar. This is a wonderful meal!! Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Very good. Used a 5 lb pork roast, 4 lbs sauerkraut (2 bags), and one lb kielbasa. I also added a bottle of beer and I'm glad I did ... it added much-needed liquidity and there was NO beer taste at the time of serving. I might add even another bottle because the juice was to die for but there was not a whole lot of it. My crock pot worked fine for about 2 hours and then stopped working for about an hour before I realized it, so I dumped it all in a large stock pot and simmered it all on the stove for a few hours. Served w/homemade mashed potatoes and applesauce. Really really good. The kielbasa got pretty soft, so if I do it on the stove next time I'll add the kielbasa in halfway through the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Made this twice now and it's great. I just moved to the heart of PA Dutch country and the locals I know here seem to really like it. The second time, I did add some brown sugar (no more than 1/4c) and 1 chopped apple. Is an awful lot of sauerkraut (I did cut it down by 1lb second time) but I use the leftover for topping on hotdogs. Yummy. Thanks for letting me know how easy this is. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nuttingh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marietta, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Sacrilege, but this is better than Grandmas....sorry Grandma. The pork is impossibly tender, the kielbasa a great punctuator. Now, I will say one of Grandmas alterations will be making it in next time...in the form of half sauerkraut, half fresh chopped cabbage. Like homemade yogurt using a regular yogurt to feed it bacteria or sourdough bread using a "starter", the commercial sauerkraut catalyzes fresh cabbage into something special - and far more delicious than "just" canned or bagged kraut....not to mention the textural differences of the larger cabbage pieces (I use a knife to cut 2" pyramid corners into the mix). Anyhow, this recipe earns it's five stars handily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States