Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Meat was flavorless and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I made this for our New Year's Day dinner and the roast was great along with the sauerkraut. After cooking the kielbasa according to the receipe directions, I have to agree with another post to not put the sausage in for the whole time because mine was very over done. Other than it, I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I love pork and sauerkraut and this is awesome! Followed suggestions and used caraway seeds, brown sugar, apples, garlic powder, and onion. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wannabe chefette
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
The meat was so juicy and tender! I cut the kraut down to 2 pounds cause there's only the 2 of us. Didn't drain or rinse it. Added a can of beer to all. My husband said he'd never had kielbasa so tender before (and he's true Polish with a LOT of kielbasa in the past). It made the house smell so good, too. This will be our New Year's meal from now on for sure! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wannabe chefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
UPDATED REVIEW, 1-5-09: Second time making this. I still drained my kraut, only added one can beer (a pilsner), and this time I browned my kielbasa before adding to crock. That kept it in tact. So, there you have it! FIRST TIME REVIEW, January 2008: I drained my kraut and added 2 cans of beer. I wish I had a dark beer to use instead. The pork was so tender, no cutting necessary! The kielbasa had split open at the end for me as well. I wonder if browning it a bit before adding it would correct that? We had this for dinner 2 nights later (hmmmm, someone ate all the kielbasa when I went to reheat it), and it was even better. Honestly, however, pork and sauerkraut is pork and saurkraut, and that is the reason I gave just 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DMM104

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Excellent recipe. The pork was so tender and delicious with the sauerkraut and kielbasa. I definitely think I will add the kielbasa in later next time as it was almost too soft, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELSY
Home Town: Niles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wauconda, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this 1/1/08. I did some tweaking, 1/2 can lager, coating brown sugar, whole large sweet onion chopped, Macintosh apple quartered, drained and rinsed the kraut, I used one other reviewers suggestion about putting the kielbasi in later and that worked great, the house smelled GREAT, the pork roast was so tender you could cut it with the side of a silicone spatula and it just fell apart. overall, rave reviews and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Was this delicious! I seared the pork loin in a pan first, with a coarsely chopped onion. Then I assembled it in the slow cooker, using rinsed sauerkraut.My DH took one bite of the pork loin and yelped "WOW!!" Thank you so much, Heather
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milaca, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
THIS WAS WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BratCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Great Meal!!!! I also added onion and garlic, the pork was so tender and the sausage tasted great.. I have a very large family and they left no left overs.. Worried that I cooked on high for only 5 hours the meal was still a topper. I too served with mashed potato and greens.. Apple pie sure tops it off....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States