Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was excellent. I have been making pork and sauerkraut in one form or another for most of my life but this by far has been the best. It will definitely be made time and again. I used 3-27 oz. cans of sauerkraut which I did not rinse or drain (I like mine tangy) and that was perfect for my crockpot. As for the person who gave this a bad rating because of Chinese New Year, last time I checked I lived in America and thus celebrated New Years the American way eating the dishes that I grew up on. So please don't give a recipe a negative review because it doesn't fit in with your customs, just don't make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Thank you, we really enjoyed this! It had a great, rich flavor. Did add 1/2 cup of beer, onions and some brown sugar to suit our tastes, but this will be a definite repeat recipe. Pork came out very tender and the kielbasa was the best. The flavor of the meat and sauerkraut all just goes together so well. FYI for others, I used Claussen jarred sauerkraut and didn't drain or rinse it. But, you may want to drain and rinse the kraut if you're not a real sauerkraut fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
I made this recipe because I was dying for some pork, sauerkraut, and mashed potatoes like we always have on New Year...even though it's coming up and presumably I could just make it then. I used pork loin instead of roast because that's what we have at my house on New Year's and I got a decent deal at Sam's Club. I drained the Sauerkraut but didn't rinse (had to run to work!)and added half a bottle of beer and some brown sugar. I put it on high and the boyfriend got home 8 hours later it was burned on the sides - I will definitely put it on low next time. It was really good - the Kielbasa was a nice touch (I used turkey to cut down on the fat a tad)...and I ate it with apple sauce and mashed potatoes and just ate it all on the same fork. New time I would add the whole bottle of beer, and maybe switch to corriander seeds (not sure about the thyme)...I defintely want to use the other half the package of pork loin and make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
What a coincidence...I made this last night!! I add chopped apples, sliced onion and caraway seeds to the kraut and cook it all in a crock pot. I serve with garlic smashed potatoes, green peas, and fresh apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
My family is Pennsylvania Dutch and pork and sauerkraut is always served on New Year's Day for good luck. This variation with the kielbasa was a tasty treat for us. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was awesome!! I only used 1/2 of the sauerkraut and added 1 cup of beef broth. This got rave reviews from all of my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
WOW! What a great way to prepare pork roast!! I think it was the best pork roast I've ever eate. My husband really loved it. Said it reminded him of the way his mother used to fix pork roast 50 some years ago. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Family and friends really enjoyed this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANDIKUNZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I love this! I cook it in the oven instead sometimes and it still is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Very good,the meat was juicy and so tender.Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States