Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent recipe, but I think the cooking time is a little off for the Kielbasa. You can add the kielbasa right at the end, maybe the last hour, just to heat through. There's no need to cook it the entire time if you get the precooked kind, and if you do it'll end up like mush. I subed the roast for some pork chops just becase they don't need to cook as long and there were only 2 of us eating this. I seared them and then added them with the kielbasa near the end. I also threw in a box of frozen perogies when there was about 30 mins left of cook time. Served the kielbasa and pork on sandwichs with sauerkraut and perogies on the side...YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Our family makes this using pork ribs, caraway seeds, cut potatoes, some cut apple. I usually take some kraut and kielbasi out and put it on a thick bun, with yellow mustard. The rest goes on a plate. Maybe some apple juice if you don't like it so sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My Hubby is from central Pennsylvania also so we have a version of this dish for New Years. The only thing I do different is add minced onion and caraway seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Pork was great but my kielbasa turned to mush. Must have overcooked it so my fault. But super tasty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made this recipe as is. It was simple to put together and very tasty. It was a big hit at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Simple & tasty! I added some raisins to the bottom layer of the sauerkraut for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Being from central Pennsylvania, I wanted to give this a try to see how it compared to what I'm used to having on New Years Day. I browned the pork loin in a skillet rather than the oven (didn't feel like dragging out the roasting pan). I used half the amount of sauerkraut called for (not a huge fan) and turkey kielbasa. I couldn't taste the thyme and might just leave it out altogether. The pork was very moist and tender, but the kielbasa was overcooked (would add maybe halfway through the cooking time). I like to add a little brown sugar or a shredded apple to the sauerkraut to offset some of the tang. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This was awesome. I took suggestions from others and used brown sugar. I actually combined the brown sugar, salt, and cinnamon and put rubbed it into the pork. I also drained, but didn't rinse the sauerkraut. I used a bottle of beer instead. I will definitely make this again and again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KikiMonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malad City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I love sauerkraut and sausage in the crock pot. Adding the pork gave my kids another option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
this is a good dish ,we use to do in the oven and have mash potatoes with it. Had heard germans always rinse the sauerkraut because it is a brine. so i rinse it briefly to capture some of but not all of the sour taste. and i added baby red potatoes on top in the crock pot. yummy .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States