Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Simple ingredients, easy to put together and tender results. I used an organic kraut without extra seasonings/salt so I added salt to mine, which it needed. I also used smoked sausage instead of kielbasa. As some noted, the flavor was a little one-dimensional so I would treat this as a base recipe. Next time, I'll add apple juice/cider and caraway...and there will be a next time :) Also, if this turned out dry for you, either your crockpot doesn't have a tight lid, your kraut not enough juice or you're adding veggies that soak up liquid/salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Very Good and certainly hit the spot. The pork roasts were too big for just me and loins too expensive so I went with 3 thick cut pork loin chops and put them one on top of the other in the center. Also cooked everything on the stove in a dutch oven over very low heat for 4 hours. Worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was a very tasty recipe! I added the beer, as suggested, but I also used a "Williams Sonoma Roasted Chicken Rub" instead of the other seasonings (as it was easier...). Tasted terrific! And was moist and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I used a 4# roast for my family of 5. Cooked it on high 4-5 hours. During the last 3 hours, I cut up potatoes and layered them on top of the pork. My family loved this recipe. Asked if it could be a weekly dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This was absolutely delicious. My whole family loved it. It also makes enough to make it a good meal for when company is coming. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! So easy and delicious, and even better the next day. It's my boyfriend's favorite meal that I make for him. I wanted to tweak it a bit by adding onions, apples, and beer, but he said "please don't mess with greatness!" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Delicious flavor. I used a bit more beer and cooked in on low for 6 hours and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Outstanding! My one important caution is that 6 hours on high seems like it could be a bad idea. I set my slow cooker to low before I left for work, and about 9 hours later my 2.5-lb pork roast was fall-apart perfect!! I added couple of tbsp of brown sugar and a dash of caraway seeds to the sauerkraut. Next time I look forward to trying some of the other suggestions on here, such as throwing in some beer or apple cider.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Similar version to what I grew up with except I had it with pork ribs, and boiled potatoes. I make it all the time now. Awesome I will try it next with the pork roast...can't wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2eat

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Read the reviews and was sure my polish husband would love it but was not a hit at our house- found the kielbasa changed consistency and became almost soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States