Pork Roast with Sauerkraut and Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Had not had sauerkraut since I lived with my parents (25yrs ago). Glad I decided to make it! After reading other reviews, I am glad I drained and rinsed the sauerkraut before adding it to crock pot. Would have been VERY pungent. Halved and thinly shaved one onion and added. I also added the kielbasa cut in 2 inch chunks for just the last hour of cooking. It would have been complete mush if I had cooked for 6 hours. Made a lot. Had the leftovers over hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Very juicy. Very delicious. After my first time making it, I decided to start throwing a can of no-salt corn in there. Great stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
To bland for my taste. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I thought this was ok... I followed the recipe exactly but the pork was dry and kind of bland. I wasn't really a fan of the thyme flavor either. Just a personal preference though. The best part was the kielbasa and sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Queenie605

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The pork was dry, the kielbasa was mushy and the sauerkraut was overpowering. The pork was so dry that it fell apart in the crock pot when I tried to pick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clint P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I had never made nor eaten this before, but it appealed to me as I read the recipe so I gave it a try. Oh my goodness how delicious. I followed the recipe exactly (except for the half bottle of Guinness I put in), and it was heaven on my tongue. My husband loved it, and my 3 young kids loved the meats (they didn't like the kraut, but what kid would?). The flavors and textures of kielbasa, pork loin and sour kraut just work so nicely together! I will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsCHPizzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
My family gave extensive complements on this dish. We used 1/2 the sauerkraut, and cooked it on high for 6 hours and low for a 7th hour. We had to extend the time a bit to keep it warm until dinner time. The pork and kielbasa came out incredibly juicy and tender. What a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
What a super easy tasty dinner! My family loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
My husband's new favorite. He already asked for it as Christmas dinner. Yay for me because it is easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
This was great! We spent all weekend eating it. I followed recipe with the exception of adding about 3/4 cup of lager (Harp was what I had on hand) as recommended by other users. Not sure if it made any difference but I couldn't taste lager and I was nervous about there not being enough liquid. I cooked on high for 2 hours then on low the rest and the meat was nice and tender. Had no issues with kielbasa turning to mush, but where I come from we take our kielbasa seriously and it's available at all stores so maybe the quality makes a difference?? Not sure, but it held together nicely. I made sure to get one with no additives so perhaps that made the difference. Definitely will make this again. And as other users have said...if you don't like sauerkraut - do not make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thePrairieMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States