Pork Roast with Apples, Beer, and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Erica Moyer Beaton
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Made this recipe tonight to rave reviews by both my husband and toddler. The three year old rated it "the BEST chicken EVER, mommy!!" (Yes, I know it is pork. Him, not so much. The only thing that I changed was swapping the beer for a bottle of hard cider, as that was what I had handy. The cider gave it just enough extra sweetness, that, to my surprise, my son (the 3 year old) even ate the sauerkraut!! I will definitely make this again. If you have someone unsure about the flavor of kraut, I suggest trying hard cider in place of beer. It was amazing. FABULOUS recipe. Definitely making again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Moyer Beaton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I made this is the slow cooker instead and it turned out wonderful. I used chicken broth instead of beer only because I didn't have beer. I would like to try it with beer next time. Very easy to prepare and yummy indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Thanks for posting this recipe. It was a hit with my family. I especially liked the apples in the recipe. They were sweet and reminded me of applesauce. There was too much liquid, so I think I will add 1/2 bottle of beer next time I make this. This is definitely a recipe I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Delicious and super easy. I seared the roast first which assured it would be moist after cooking. I seasoned it with salt, pepper, garlic salt and Lawry's seasoning while searing. I did not need to add any more beer once the roast went in the oven, it stayed very juicy. Cooked at 275 the roast was done in 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
My mom normally makes this every year for New Year's. I did not have beer on hand, so I substituted white wine (Pinot Grigio) Sauerkraut turned out great however I like the pork better with beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Being Pennsylvania Dutch, pork and sauerkraut is a staple, particularly on New Year's Day. This is, hands down, the most flavorful pork and sauerkraut recipe I have tasted or made. Not sure how someone could mess this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Disappointed. I was really excited about this recipe but it turned out to be a dud for us. Ours baked for 3.5 hours and was still swimming in juices - I knew there was no way it'd be cooked off in 30 minutes, so I ended up dumping a bunch off. This probably dumped off a lot of the sweetness. What was left tasted like beer soaked apples and kraut. I'm giving two stars because I really liked the flavor of the pork - it was quite delicious. Unfortunately, I think there are much better ways of getting good flavored pork. This one is going on our DNR list - Do Not Repeat. Sorry. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Easy Peasy. Accidentally left it in too long, but it was completely salvageable. Definitely will make again, this time keeping a closer eye on the time. I also added yams and dusted everything lightly with cinnamon for an extra accent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I was very disappointed in this. The more I tried to fix it, the worse it got. I ended up pulling out the meat and tried to salvage it by making dumplings to fry in with the meat. Never again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Yale, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Made this tonight and hubby loved it. Mixture of apples,onions,kraut was deeelicious,easy to prepare and make, will make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Slow Cooker Sauerkraut Pork Loin

What's cooking in Nashville? Jamie's sweet, tender sauerkraut and pork loin.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States