Pork Ribs Piquant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I was skeptical, but this turned out excellent! I halved the recipe since I only had 3/4 lb ribs, but forgot to halve the water. The ribs were almost covered with sauce. After I turned them I removed the foil to let some of the moisture cook off. They turned out amazingly tender and delicious! I left out the onion since I didn't have one and didn't want to run to the store, and used red wine vinegar since that's all I had on hand too. Oh, and I used brown mustard since I didn't have dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateShaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I followed the directions as written but considering the comments of an overly watery sauce, I added 1T of flour to the partially cooked onions and reduced water to 3/4 cup. The sauce turned out perfectly. The entire dish had a mellow flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Leary because I am not a huge pork lover, my entire family LOVED this and were clamoring for more. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I made the sauce exactly as the recipe stated. The ribs came out so tender they were falling off the bone but the taste could have been better. The sauce was too watery too so next time, I'm upping the amount of vinegar, brown sugar and Worcestershire sauce and lowering the amount of water a bit. I think it's a very good starter recipe for ribs and just needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
This was really good. I made the sauce without the worcestershire sauce as I didn't have any. I added some chili garlic sauce to add some kick. It came out terrific! I will make this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Owls Head, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This was so yummy that I was craving it again as soon as the meal was over! I had a 4 lb. package of country style ribs, so I doubled the ingredients for the sauce, and that was just right. I also browned the ribs and put them in the crockpot with the sauce for about 3-4 hours on low. The sauce was really good over rice! I think this will be my go-to recipe next time ribs are on sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I seared the meat without dredging in flour. Otherwise, I followed the recipe, with the exception of using the slow cooker as my oven was on the fritz. This is really an interesting flavor, certainly not barbeque but slightly reminiscent of it. I did thicken with a cornstarch slurry to give a little more body to the sauce. The meat was tender and flavorful. We ate it on pasta and also on rice. We also used it in a sandwich with cole slaw. It's a much more subtle flavor than barbeque and is definitely a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
fantasic! did sauce as written but decided to add a slurry of 1-tsp cornstarch in water,sauce seemed too runny. also made it a complete meal by throwing in some mixed color bell peppers and some pineapple.thanks for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Delicious! I used the ingredients exactly as written, but after I browned the ribs and made the sauce, I put everything in my crock pot. Cooked on high for about an hour and then low for another 2-3. Came out great. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Followed the directions and doubled it. There were no leftovers, and everyone was happy. I love it, and will become one of my regulars. Thank you very much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States