Pork Rib Stew with Sage Cornmeal Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Great stew! I have made it twice so far. I added parsnips and sweet potatoes also. I used less milk and the dumplings were perfect. You might want to double the dumpling recipe. We ran out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
WOW. I *loved* this recipe. The seasonings are perfect—the chili powder just adds a warm note, without it tasting like chili. I made it in the pressure cooker in the morning, and then reheated it and added the dumplings right before dinner. I roasted the pork ribs and then cooked them in the pressure cooker with the whole potatoes for 15 minutes. When the pressure dropped, I added chopped carrots and parsnips plus a chopped sweet potato, just for the heck of it, and simmered for about 20 minutes until the veggies were tender. I chilled it and then cut the whole potatoes into chunks. I did have trouble with the dumplings: instead of being a dough, it was more like pancake batter. Still delicious! Just not very dumpling-y. Next time, I'll just add enough milk to hold them together. Also, since I made this in the pressure cooker, the liquid didn't evaporate so I should've cut down the amount of water. Oh, and I didn't have beef bouillon so I used one can of chicken broth (milder than beef) and water. Perfect fall stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
We really loved this recipe but I revised it a bit for use in the crock pot. I used the same ingredients but added a green pepper. I browned the meat in a skillet then sauteed the onion and garlic and placed all of the ingredients in a crock pot but I cut the amount of water down to 3 cups. I cooked it on high for 4 hours and added the dumpling mix and cooked it an additional 20 min until dumplings were done. I doubled the dumpling recipe but found that it was the consistency of pancake batter so I would reduce the amount of milk next time. Perhaps just add milk until it reached the desired consistency. The flavor was absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This was really delicious. I made this in the crockpot. I followed all the directions as stated except I cut the amount of water in half. I also took the suggestion of the other reviewers and added just enough water to make a dough and it worked like a charm. Thank you so much for sharing your great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Plu~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lucerne, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Awesome! Perfect for a snowy evening. The dumplings are so flavorful, and thicken the broth perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Just made this tonight! I didn't have bouillon, so used 1 quart of beef broth. Also just mixed the dumpling mixture until it was the right consistency. Came out very good and hubby loved it! Something tasty and different to make on a cold night. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was excellent. I only had chicken bullion, and was missing some ingredients so I substituted garlic powder for garlic, rosemary instead of Thyme, and omitted the marjoram and bay leaves, it was Very tasty, I can't wait to make it with the proper ingredients I'll bet it's even better. I do believe the 1/2 cup of milk is a bit to much, i had to thicken my dumplings up so they would stick together when I dropped them in to boil, perhaps cut the milk and add a little at a time until you reach a good thick/well mixed consistency. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kountryKook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marshall, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Wonderful Recipe! Hats off to the chef! I made a few changes. No bullion because of MSG, I slow cooked in a crockpot before boiling in dumplings, and last I sub Tony Chacheres Creole Seasoning for most of the salt, as I do for almost all recipes, Im southern. So glad I found this because now I add the dumpling part to most of my stew recipes. Adds richness and body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
This was absolutely awesome. I made this recipe exactly as written. I did let the the dumpling dough sit for a few minutes before adding to the stew. I used the mixing spoon and made huge dumplings. They did disintegrate just a bit, but this added to the stew and made an awesome gravy. The actual dumpling was delicious. I will definitely make again. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This is honestly the best stew I've ever had. I used just enough milk so that the dumpling mixture would be a bit thicker and I used fresh sage rather than dried. I think this stew will cure all ails! Move aside chicken-noodle soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States