Pork Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
The pork pies were quite amazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
This is the second Christmas now that I decided to make this pie! So, it is REALLY good! People loved it! Hope they will do so this time, too. :-)) Thanks, Laurie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Reggie has been looking for that perfect pork-pie recipe. he made the pie for supper tonight and after he took the first bite, he said Honey you found the right recipe. I am glad I found this site and especially this recipe. Thank you Laurie. I have never had Pork pie until tonight I love it Sandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Me and my husband both really enjoyed this recipe!! I did change it up a little bit though. I only used 1 pound ground pork and 1 pound ground beef and I browned the meat with 1 onion chopped, approx. 1 tbls minced garlic and steak seasoning. I also added garlic to the mashed potatoes. This was the perfect amount of filling for 1 pie. Very tasty! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Instead of homemade mashed potatoes, I use Betty Crocker instant-2 pouches. You'd never know my secret!!! This dish is a family favorite!! My kids ask for it all the time! I get 2 nights of dinner out of this 1 recipe for a family of 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Being of French Canadian heritage, 1st generation American, my Memere made French meat pie every Christmas. Very similar to this except I season mine with cinnamon, poultry seasoning, cloves, allspice, salt and pepper. (ooooh, NO ketchup or mustard.) Before baking I brush on one egg with a bit of water and sprinkle with paprika...what a beauitful looking and tasting pie when you're done. Sandy T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vinh
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Loved this recipe! Like other reviewers I make two pies for the ingredients listed. Added peas to recipe second time I made this and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This is so good. One of my favorites. My mother in law makes something very similar, but uses bread crumbs instead of mashed potatoes. I use the boxed mashed potatoes to make it easier and faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
For those looking for more flavor, try using poultry seasoning to taste. it makes all the difference. I always use just pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is very similar to the pork pies I used to make. Yes, I am also a "Main-iac"! It is a real favorite at my home, especially during the winter holiday months..... a real must in the Franco-American community! The only change in my recipe was to add some sauteed onions and 1 tsp. of minced garlic. I skipped the nutmeg, as it is not a favorite spice of mine with meat. Also, when I fixed the potatoes, I added butter and just alittle milk to whip them up, then added the onions, garlic, and drained meat. This is a dish which tastes even better the next day when the potatoes are stiffer. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Crispy Pork Cutlets

See what happens when German schnitzel technology meets Southern country cooking.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States