Pork Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Thank you so much for bringing memories of Christmas back to me. This is basically the same recipe that ma grand-mere passed to ma mere (I apologize, my computer doesn't speak French). Grand-mere's differences were that she always used onions and used allspice as her seasoning. Just remember that every grandmother out there had her own recipe, each as good as the other. Also we all adjust spices and seasonings to our own tastes. Keep that in mind and we all eat well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula D.
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I tried this recipe because I wanted to have a pork pie, like my mother use make. Well, it came out perfect. My boyfriend and I both loved it. I served cranberry sauce with it and brussel sprouts (for a veggie), cuz that's how I had it when I was a kid. And since my mom had passed away, and I couldn't find out how to make it, so I turned to "Allrecipes.com". Thank you so much for bringing my memories back to life. IT WAS DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This recipe sounds intriguing but I have to say that the picture does not look like there is ANY ground meat. Looks more like chunky pulled pork or beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Instead of homemade mashed potatoes, I use Betty Crocker instant-2 pouches. You'd never know my secret!!! This dish is a family favorite!! My kids ask for it all the time! I get 2 nights of dinner out of this 1 recipe for a family of 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I only used one pound pork and one pound beef, which is enough for three sheets of 9in crust. And I have added some home brewed alcohol, beer will do too. And some bacon! I used oven to cook the meat to keep the meat jelly in the filling, yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vinh
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Loved this recipe! Like other reviewers I make two pies for the ingredients listed. Added peas to recipe second time I made this and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is very similar to the pork pies I used to make. Yes, I am also a "Main-iac"! It is a real favorite at my home, especially during the winter holiday months..... a real must in the Franco-American community! The only change in my recipe was to add some sauteed onions and 1 tsp. of minced garlic. I skipped the nutmeg, as it is not a favorite spice of mine with meat. Also, when I fixed the potatoes, I added butter and just alittle milk to whip them up, then added the onions, garlic, and drained meat. This is a dish which tastes even better the next day when the potatoes are stiffer. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
omg way to ruin a pork pie with mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Being of French Canadian heritage, 1st generation American, my Memere made French meat pie every Christmas. Very similar to this except I season mine with cinnamon, poultry seasoning, cloves, allspice, salt and pepper. (ooooh, NO ketchup or mustard.) Before baking I brush on one egg with a bit of water and sprinkle with paprika...what a beauitful looking and tasting pie when you're done. Sandy T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
For those looking for more flavor, try using poultry seasoning to taste. it makes all the difference. I always use just pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Pork Cutlets

See what happens when German schnitzel technology meets Southern country cooking.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States