Pork Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Instead of homemade mashed potatoes, I use Betty Crocker instant-2 pouches. You'd never know my secret!!! This dish is a family favorite!! My kids ask for it all the time! I get 2 nights of dinner out of this 1 recipe for a family of 4
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I only used one pound pork and one pound beef, which is enough for three sheets of 9in crust. And I have added some home brewed alcohol, beer will do too. And some bacon! I used oven to cook the meat to keep the meat jelly in the filling, yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vinh
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Loved this recipe! Like other reviewers I make two pies for the ingredients listed. Added peas to recipe second time I made this and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
This is very similar to the pork pies I used to make. Yes, I am also a "Main-iac"! It is a real favorite at my home, especially during the winter holiday months..... a real must in the Franco-American community! The only change in my recipe was to add some sauteed onions and 1 tsp. of minced garlic. I skipped the nutmeg, as it is not a favorite spice of mine with meat. Also, when I fixed the potatoes, I added butter and just alittle milk to whip them up, then added the onions, garlic, and drained meat. This is a dish which tastes even better the next day when the potatoes are stiffer. Bon appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
omg way to ruin a pork pie with mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Being of French Canadian heritage, 1st generation American, my Memere made French meat pie every Christmas. Very similar to this except I season mine with cinnamon, poultry seasoning, cloves, allspice, salt and pepper. (ooooh, NO ketchup or mustard.) Before baking I brush on one egg with a bit of water and sprinkle with paprika...what a beauitful looking and tasting pie when you're done. Sandy T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
For those looking for more flavor, try using poultry seasoning to taste. it makes all the difference. I always use just pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Me and my husband both really enjoyed this recipe!! I did change it up a little bit though. I only used 1 pound ground pork and 1 pound ground beef and I browned the meat with 1 onion chopped, approx. 1 tbls minced garlic and steak seasoning. I also added garlic to the mashed potatoes. This was the perfect amount of filling for 1 pie. Very tasty! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This Pork Pie was very good with mashed potatoes in the mix rather than bread crumbs as in other recipes. Found the meat could have had some chopped onion and some more spices though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
This is so good. One of my favorites. My mother in law makes something very similar, but uses bread crumbs instead of mashed potatoes. I use the boxed mashed potatoes to make it easier and faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Crispy Pork Cutlets

See what happens when German schnitzel technology meets Southern country cooking.

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States