Pork-n-Beans Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
i halved the recipe and substituted the eggs because my cousin was allergic to eggs...and ended up with it not really binding well and crumbling all over the place! the taste was nice but i thought it was way too sweet because the beans are quite sweet in the first place. next time i'll probably cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swiish

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
5 STARS, BUT ONLY WITH THESE ALTERATIONS: The point of bean cake is our health, so I made the following changes. Reduce sugar from 2 cups to 1 1/2 cups. Substute most of the oil for applesauce, (I used 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup applesauce). To eliminate even more sugar (and the fat from the pork), I used a 16 oz. jar of home-canned black beans in place of the baked beans with pork. To hide the beans, I substituted 3 Tbsp. cocoa powder for the 1 teaspoon cinnamon. I also have a wheat grinder, so I ground fresh whole wheat flour and substituted it for the white flour. I left out the raisins. With these changes, you can transform this recipe into a DELICIOUS, HEALTHY CHOCOLATE BLACK BEAN CAKE. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PTMUGUCA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Great recipe. I too was very lary of the way this cake may taste. but what a surprise its wonderful. I made it for after dinner tonight and my husband and daughter had no clue as to how it was made they just knew it was wonderful tasting and wanted more. i told my daughter how i made it and she was very surprised and said you are kidding me.made with baked beans. I did change a couple of things, i used 2 cups less 3 tablespoons of white sugar and i used 1 cup of extra virgin olive oil instead of veggi oil and i used 1 cup white flour along with 1 cup whole wheat flour, i threw in 3 tablespoons of ground golden flaxseed, and i used 2 teaspoons of cinnamon instead of 1.i will cut back more on the sugar next time but this is for sure a keeper and a great recipe to share with friends and family and let them guess whats in it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PTMUGUCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traycee
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Mom said it was easy to make and it tasted WONDERFUL. She asked Jeanie to taste it and she did, and Mom said can you guess what is in the bread? Jeanie said ummm Raisins, walnuts, she couldn't guess the Pork n Beans and she just loved it. Mom said she is taking one to work for her friends to try. She said she will make it again....as she does love Pork n Beans on toast....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traycee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Haskell, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Pretty darn good! I used maple beans, and pureed them to make them creamy. Using maple beans makes it really sweet, so I suggest reducing the sugar by 1/4 to 1/2 cup or so, and adding 1/2 tsp salt. Then maybe some cream cheese icing...mmmm... I need more recipes that use beans as an ingredient (other than chili!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
Very tasty and moist! I replaced all of the oil with applesauce and made muffins (baked about 30 min) and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
I love making this and then making people guess what kind of bread it is. You'll be surprised at the answers!! Everyone is shocked when I tell them pork and beans!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKilmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This cake is moist and tastes great! I do suggest mashing the beans, otherwise you end up seeing whole beans in the cake. Also, I replaced most of the oil for applesauce (maybe 4/5 applesauce to 1/5 oil), and I used only 2/3 of the amount of sugar that it called for. The cake still comes out very sweet. Great idea to use beans to sneak in some extra fiber!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I was quite surprised by this recipe. I didn't have any baked beans, so I used a can of kidney beans instead, which I decided to smash up. I omitted the raisins and was able to make 2 loaves. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This is so moist and yummy. I glazed it with a powdered sugar icing and it made it so sweet, not that it wasn't sweet already. I will certainly make this again, even though it is hard to get past knowing what is in it. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States