Pork-n-Beans Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I found this recipe today and made it. I was sooo excited cause it was something different and it sounded yumm. Like past comments I only used one cup sugar,one cup white flour & one cup whole wheat flour and used plenty of cinnamon and added a dash of nutmeg. I did'nt have nuts or raisins but this taste sooo goood, you cannot even taste the beans at all I mean not one bit. I will def make this again and take it to events & boy will they be surprised when they learn what's in it. I also made a buttercream icing and covered it quite generously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by September123
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This cake was very moist. I did as others suggested and used applesauce instead of vegetable oil. I also used 1 and 1/3 cup sugar instead of 2 cups. I love raisins so I added slightly more then the optional amount. I also mashed the baked beans with a wooden spoon in a separate bowl (as best as I could) before adding them to the mixture. My work colleagues and friends had no idea that baked beans were an ingredient! They truly enjoyed the recipe, and so did I. Also I used part of the batter to make muffin-cakes (huge hit) and the other part I put into mini loaf pans. I cooked them each for 25min, then when that time was up I did the toothpick test and proceeded accordingly. In my non-convection oven they both cooked for about 30 min. I fill my mini loaf pans about 3/4 of the way to get a baked result that is slightly under the top of the pan. Thanks for this recipe, I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by September123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
First of all, I did make a couple of changes. This is what I changed. For the oil, I used 1/2 cup of grapeseed oil and 1/2 cup of plain fat free Greek Yogurt. Based upon other reviews, I decreased sugar to 1 1/2 cups and increased the cinnamon to 2 teaspoons. As for the pork and beans, I used a 99% vegetarian pork and bean that I ran through my food processor to puree them. I added raisins and pecans pieces(found in the baking isle). When hubby got home, he tried them, really liked them, then I told him what was in them. He was really surprised but said it allowed him to try them with an open mind. He also said they are really, really good. Even asked if I could try making them in lemon flavor, lemon poppyseed, or vanilla by using a white been. Lol...he's all into this. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Almost forgot to mention, I made this into cupcakes. Baked them for about 18 minutes, but that time will vary depending upon oven. Happy snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthetimeaway

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I don't know if it is because I know the beans are in there, but I can taste them. It's OK. Definitely fun to make and share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Three stars because its definitely unique! I thought, with the addition of much more spice, it was a tasty and moist quick bread. Had left over baked beans from dinner and decided to make a loaf of this bean bread. It may be psychological but I felt like it had a grainy texture, reminiscent of added fiber. A quick recipe worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Family loved it! Said it tasted like a dessert spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Does this really turn out as good as you think it would? No.....it's BETTER. I don't use two cups of sugar, one is plenty and I also use butter or margerine instead of vegetable oil. Instead of just cinnamon, I'll add two teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and I soak my raisins in hot juice or rum (making sure to drain them well) before adding them to the batter. It is one of those spice cakes where people remark on "OMG, this is SO good....how did you make it?" and then once they find out, they HAVE to make it themselves so they can fool someone else. This is also good as cupcakes with a Cream Cheese Frosting. GREAT for White Trash Parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this cake on April Fool's day for my work and it was GOBBLED down pronto! I had put a sign up saying..."can you guess the secret ingredient?" and everyone was coming up to me wanting to know what it was! Great way to get fiber! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Yes, just like everyone else, I too was skeptical. But let me tell you all, delicious!!! Don't change a thing. Follow the recipe and it will turn out great. I have a pet peeve, when people don't follow the recipes and change things around then give less than 5 stars, it makes me mad. Very good cake. I made the 2 loaves. Tastes like a pumpkin type flavor. I will definately make it again and again. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D'Borah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Awesome! Banana/Zucchini/Pumpkin bread-ish. Kinda on the sweet side, but great texture, color, and flavor. I wish I had the cans because that would just add to the class of the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Carver Clan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States