Pork Medallions with Port and Dried Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
This recipe was fantastic! I made this as part of a romantic dinner and we were just wowed by it. Also a winner if you have company. Made one change: regular Merlot wine instead of port (we just happened to forget). Served this with garlic whipped potatoes topped with my own favorite side dish - fresh spinach sauteed in minced garlic and olive oil. My secret to great whipped potatoes: throw in a couple of chicken boullion cubes while they boil. Just heavenly... Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
read reviews about this one. can do ahead and reheat, too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
EXCELLENT and low in fat and calories! This one deserves five stars! My family loved it! Used thick, lean boneless pork chops that I cut into 1/2" slices and smaller pieces and everything else exactly as the recipe said. I think it would work to brown the pork pieces and make the sauce up to adding the thickening ahead of time (could be refrigerated and warmed up later). Then warm pork in oven at low temp. in a covered dish to keep from drying out(add a tiny bit of water if pork looks dry) and while it is warming up, heat sauce and when hot, add thickening. I served it with brown rice (cooked in "no-fuss" rice cooker) and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
My family loved this meal. I served it with herbed mashed potatoes and steamed broccoli. I used pork loin to make the meaallions which really made it tender and instead of using the port wine I used an available shiraz. Other than that I don't think I changed the recipe much at all. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
This was a great recipe - I needed something different and fast for dinner. I didn't have shallots, or onions and did it without it, it tasted great, and will use this again, when we have company. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Great recipe! Delicious and very pretty. I used white wine vinegar, and it turned out fine. You have to watch the sauce pretty closely at the end so it's best to serve side dishes that come be made ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I used red wine vinegar, but otherwise followed the recipe. Excellent taste! I served with mashed potatoes. Will be making this one many times...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BATCAVES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vinton, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Love this recipe. It was quite labor intensive, but definitely worth it. I will make this many times again ( just not on a busy weeknight).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I have made this recipe three times so far, and each time, my fiance said it was the best thing I had ever made. I haven't changed anything from the original recipe because, as the saying goes, if it ain't broke, don't fix it! I serve this with mashed potatoes and sauteed greenbeans for an elegant looking, impressively tasting meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This was great and easy. I loved the sweet/sour flavors of the sauce. I used a pork tenderloin cut into thin slices. I also used white wine vinegar instead of distilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States