Pork Medallions with Port and Dried Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was very good. My only complaint was that the meat could have simmered with the sauce to absorb more of the flavor. Being on Weight Watchers, I cooked 3 small pork chops and halved the sauce ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I really don't think I did anything wrong here, just too tart for my taste. Maybe I didn't reduce the vinegar out long enough? However, I have a similar way of cooking mushrooms in this kind of sauce. To give it a more mellow taste, I add 1/2 + 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I loved this recipe. I used boneless pork chops and a dry white wine as substitutes for what I didnt have. I am sure the sweeter wine would add even more tang to the flavor and a stronger contrast of the vinegar and the sweet. I also added some crushed garlic to the sauce. Very tasty.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I originally saw this in a Cooking Light magazine and made it for some dinner guests. We're sauce people, so I doubled the sauce and thought that it was just right. It was good, just nothing I'd make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Very good! The only thing I would do differently next time is add less pepper. It was too much for my taste. I also didn't have any Port so I used a combination of Sherry and Burgundy. I served it with mashed potatoes and green beans. Hubby said it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This was very good. I used onions instead of shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this dish for Valentine's Day because I wanted something special...Everyone -from my oldest teen to my pre-teen daughter loved it and asked for more. It is so easy and elegant I plan to make it for company. Note- I actually used half the amount of balsamic and substituted cider vinegar to soften the flavor of the sauce. I also used garlic instead of shallots. Served with green beans tossed with lemon juice and slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Excellent pork dish. I used ruby red port wine as I couldn't find a tawny port at the store; otherwise, I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
GREAT recipe; made this for friends and family. Just be careful with the pepper-- it's overwhelming and we didn't need as much as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe. I think I needed to reduce my sauce more than I did. I personally find the instructions to "reduce by half" hard to follow. I either get too much (too watery) or too little (too salty.) And I can never get it perfect. It would be easier for me if it told how much sauce you should end up with in the end. Never-the-less, I will make it again because I think it has great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States