Pork Medallions with Port and Dried Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I really don't think I did anything wrong here, just too tart for my taste. Maybe I didn't reduce the vinegar out long enough? However, I have a similar way of cooking mushrooms in this kind of sauce. To give it a more mellow taste, I add 1/2 + 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Living In: Fircrest, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I loved this recipe. I used boneless pork chops and a dry white wine as substitutes for what I didnt have. I am sure the sweeter wine would add even more tang to the flavor and a stronger contrast of the vinegar and the sweet. I also added some crushed garlic to the sauce. Very tasty.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanW

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I originally saw this in a Cooking Light magazine and made it for some dinner guests. We're sauce people, so I doubled the sauce and thought that it was just right. It was good, just nothing I'd make a again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Very good! The only thing I would do differently next time is add less pepper. It was too much for my taste. I also didn't have any Port so I used a combination of Sherry and Burgundy. I served it with mashed potatoes and green beans. Hubby said it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This was very good. I used onions instead of shallots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this dish for Valentine's Day because I wanted something special...Everyone -from my oldest teen to my pre-teen daughter loved it and asked for more. It is so easy and elegant I plan to make it for company. Note- I actually used half the amount of balsamic and substituted cider vinegar to soften the flavor of the sauce. I also used garlic instead of shallots. Served with green beans tossed with lemon juice and slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Excellent pork dish. I used ruby red port wine as I couldn't find a tawny port at the store; otherwise, I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
GREAT recipe; made this for friends and family. Just be careful with the pepper-- it's overwhelming and we didn't need as much as the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
This was a pretty good recipe. I think I needed to reduce my sauce more than I did. I personally find the instructions to "reduce by half" hard to follow. I either get too much (too watery) or too little (too salty.) And I can never get it perfect. It would be easier for me if it told how much sauce you should end up with in the end. Never-the-less, I will make it again because I think it has great potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Photo by apedawn
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
HEAVEN!!! It was delicious. I used cabernet because I had no port. Other than than I followed the recipe using sliced pork tenderloin. Easy & Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apedawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States