Pork Medallions with Dijon Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Excellent! This is definitely fine restaurant quality! I adapted this a little, basically just to work with ingredients I had on hand, but not so much that it would really affect the recipe at all. I sauteed the pork pieces a few minutes on each side in butter and olive oil. As for the sauce, I opted to use white wine rather than broth, half and half instead of the evaporated milk, and a medium shallot for the green onions. After finishing the sauce I added some sauteed fresh mushrooms, and garnished with fresh chopped parsley. The pork was so tender I cut it with my fork. The creamy sauce is velvety and rich, since all the browned bits from sauteeing the pork are nicely deglazed with the wine. The amount of Dijon was just right, providing just a hint of its tangy flavor. I served this with Hazelnut Mushroom Pilaf left over from last night's dinner and Stir-Fried Asparagus, also from this site. Hubby wants to serve this exact menu the next time we have guests for dinner. Wonderful recipe -- thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by jeanneferg
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Quite tasty. As pork can tend to be tough, after browning the porkchops, I moved them to another frying pan with a small amount of wine and covered them to finish cooking them. It seemed to make the chops more tender by steaming them a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Delicious. I I tripled the recipe and froze the leftovers. I added 1/2 tsp. of garlic to the sauce and served this with roasted potatoes. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This is one of my husband's favorite dishes. We have used this sauce over chicken and other cuts of pork as well (we prefer it w/ pork). I use about twice as much white wine as called for and add more dijon at the end to taste. We usually also add about 1/2 lb of mushrooms. So good! Goes great with Rice or Cous Cous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Very tasty, and quick/easy to make. So simple, I can't believe I didn't think of this. I'm so glad I made this; thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
very good. quick. easy. good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Used white wine instead of chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I used 2% milk and honey dijon, and pork chops instead of medallions. I would season the pork a bit more, with salt/pepper and maybe a touch of rosemary, and consider baking after searing the sides. The sauce was awesome - it started to clump from the milk but once the dijon was added, it blended well. I served with balsamic potatoes (also from here) and buttered brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
this was the best!! i have made it 3 times now!! i used evap milk, added rosemary and some minced garlic, and doubled the sauce ingredients and it came out amazing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 911chick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Excellent! Next time I'm going to add mushrooms to the onions. Rosemary would be an excellent addition, I'm going to try that next time, and there will be PLENTY of next times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States