Pork Medallions with Balsamic Vinegar and Capers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Very easy to make and delicious! After cutting the pork, I placed the slices between two pieces of wax paper and gently pounded it down to the desired thickness. I doubled the sauce which was positively wonderful the balsamic and capers complimented each other nicely. Thanks for a great recipe Marianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This is my recipe, and I have an update for you. I made this tonight using a replacement for the chicken broth: the dark, wonderful, gelatinous broth that is left from the Roast Sticky Chicken from this site. It made the sauce rich and more flavorful. I highly recommend it! You may need to add a little more broth for the ratio of vinegar:broth because it is thicker. Very tasty indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Hey Marianne! Thank you so much for the recipe!!!! I made it excatly as it was written and my family loved it! PS. We are the Caper Gueens! Princessjenna told me about it and what a life saver because I usaually marinate and grill pork tenderloin.. to cold outside. This would also be good with chicken..says my son. Thanks for the great recipe! UPDATE: I used a pork loin and cut it very thin. The medallions were bigger but just as tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Good, solid dish. I would recommend cooking the pork roast in the oven for 15-20 minutes before slicing and pan frying. When one merely pan-fries after dredging in oil, the outsides get crispy and blacken before the inside of the meat can cook, which results in improperly cooked meat. If you wait too long, though, the sauce reduces too much to be sufficient to cover the medallions. Other than those small things, the flavor of this dish is really good. I liked the sauce a lot - robust, but not overpowering, and delicious without being too creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Awesome sauce! I made this like the recipe said. the only thing I did do was add one more cup of chicken broth and a tbls of cornstartch and soy sauce to thicken the sauce a bit more right at the end. the combination of Balsamic Vinegar, lemon and broth with capers was so odd, yet the flavor was truely awesome. I'll use it on beef as well. Very good thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MemaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
this was wonderful! i used fresh garlic and the lemon juice and some zest from half a lemon...so much flavor! thx for posting marianne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful
Photo by LaurenM
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Thank you Marianne for a great recipe. I am much more of a baker than a cook but this dinner made me look really good. I was a little nervous in the beginning but it turned out great. Thanks again. Btw, I doubled the sauce, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
This was superb!!! Even better than I expected. I served it with plain mashed potatoes & steamed broccoli...I'm so glad I doubled the sauce per others suggestions...it was fantastic over the potatoes!!! Thanks for a wonderful dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gebah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pompton Plains, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We love this! I used less, balsamic, and added some white wine. I also didn't use the lemon zest, personal preference. Fabulous! Thanks Marianne ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I served this at a gourmet dinner and everyone raved. I wanted to prepare it beforehand, so I didn't cook the meat all the way through. I put the medallions in a baking dish and made the sauce. I poured the sauce over the meat and put it all in the fridge. I baked it about 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven and it was terrific. I served it with the Carrot Rice recipe from this site. Will definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stevensville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Grilled Jerk Pork Tenderloin

See how to use jerk spices to make perfect jerk pork tenderloin.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States