Pork Medallions with Balsamic Vinegar and Capers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I made this with 9 pork chops so had to adjust the recipe. The flour coating was a bit frustrating because it didn't stick to the chops well. This was the first time I had capers. I thought they were tasty but my family not so much. Not sure if I used 1 tbsp of zest because I just zested one lemon and tossed it into the sauce. The flavor combos I got from the reduction was great. Next time I make this, I will omit the flour and just season the meat with the garlic salt and pepper and go from there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This recipe is the fastest, easiest, tastiest main dish ever. I made it as written, except doubled the sauce. Would be great for guests. Served with roasted brussels sprouts and twice baked potatoes in a bowl b/c the jackets broke. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
We enjoyed this very much. The balsamic made a great sauce but we wondered if the lemon zest needed to be there. It was a very dominant flavour. Might try it without next time. Also, may have added more broth as we wanted more sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
The recipe was incredibly delicious. The sauce was really great and had a perfect balance of flavors for me. As suggested by others, I did double the sauce and am glad I did because my boyfriend loved the sauce so much he put it on the green beans and the rice I had served with the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
We have some great grilling recipes for pork tenderloin, but were looking for something for stove-top prep in the winter. This recipe is AMAZING----so delicious! Fast, easy, elegant! It made us so impressed with ourselves! We served it with oven roasted tomatoes (also w/balsamic) & some roasted brussel sprouts--delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I have made this several times now. The recipe as stated is the best. However, I have had to substitute at times and it still is good. Have used orange zest instead of lemon, and the capers are a good addition, but works okay without them. Also increased the simmer time as I used 1/2 inch bone-in pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Very tasty! It was also quick and easy, all top qualifications in my book! I wasn't sure if DH would like it because he doesn't like basalmic, but he tasted the sauce then picked up the pan and poured it all over his chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Photo by ConnorsMom
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Wonderful and easy to make. Even my 7 year old eats this (except for the capers for some reason). I have used a couple different types of infused balsamic vinegars' and it is always great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConnorsMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was okay. Had no problems with the pork turning out mushy, the consistency worked well and the meat was moist. The sauce didn't blend well/the meat didn't absorb it well. It was just okay in flavor. Will use my pork tenderloins for better recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Very Good! I made half of this recipe, but made the full amount of sauce. I wanted to see if this could basically be done ahead of time and reheated just before serving, so I went about this a little differently. I followed the recipe, but once the meat was cooked through, I took it out of the pan so it wouldn’t over cook and finished the sauce with a cornstarch/water slurry and a pat of butter. I let everything cool somewhat and then returned the pork to the pan, covered it and put it in the fridge. I reheated it gently just before serving, turning the pork over once, to get it heated through a little faster . My little experiment worked beautifully which makes this a wonderful recipe to use for entertaining. And did I mention that it’s delicious?! Just as a personal preference, the only change I would make next time would be to omit the flour. Thanks Marianne for sharing your wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoky Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled bone-in pork chops with a smoky marinade.

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

An incredibly simple, flavorful pork roast that needs just four ingredients.

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States