Pork Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
These were amazing and easy! My first time making homemade meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I followed the recipe and made some of the changes that other reviewers suggested. I started with a pound of ground pork, as that is how my grocery sells it. To it I added 1/2 cup Panko Italian flavored bread crumbs, 2 eggs (the mixture was too dry with one), four cloves of garlic,1/2 cup Parmesan-Romano-Asiago shredded cheese, a little less salt than the recipe called for, 1/4 tsp. freshly ground pepper, a nice handful of fresh parsley, chopped finely, and 1/2 onion finely minced. I mixed the meat with the above ingredients and formed into 2" meatballs (I got 12). I sprayed the bottom of my dutch oven and baked the meatballs in a 350 oven until the meatballs were done. I removed them and deglazed with some white wine, and added 1 can of chicken broth, and a handful of fresh thyme that was tied with some cooking twine. I made a roux of flour and butter (1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup flour), and added that to the broth, and then re-added the meatballs. I cooked them for approx 45 minutes and then served them with sauce over pasta. The meatballs and sauce were downright delicious. This recipe is a great recipe for many other possibilities. I will make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Delicious! I bake them and make a roux with the dripping to make gravy. My husband had them for breakfast, smelt so good when I woke up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I made this tonight & it was so so so so good. I did change things up a bit, but not a lot. Here's how I made them. I used 1 lb. ground pork, fresh oregano & basil, 2 end bunches of green onions(mostly the white part), 1/2 c bread crumbs, 1/2 c parm cheese, dried parsley, 2 T garlic that you buy in the jar, 1 egg, & 2 T of Worcestershire sauce -made into meatballs & browned these in a pan. While the meat balls were cooking I used about 5 c of homemade beef broth & added a roux of 1/2 c butter & 1/2 c flour & added the roux when broth was boiling to make a think gravy. I poured the gravy on top of the meatballs along to 2 jars of mushrooms. Allowed this all to simmer for 20-25 min., making sure to scrape all the browned bits on the bottom of the pan into the gravy. Served over egg noodles with corn & pretzel rolls. Everyone loved it-even my picky 8 yr old. Thank you so much for this recipe-even though i didn't follow it to a T, it gave me a great base to make it my own! Am definitely making this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDERAE
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
These were great. I made Savory Mushroom Sauce from this site to go with it, and served everything over cooked pasta. The meatballs were really good. I liked how they turned out cooking them in the beef broth. Turned out very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Great pork balls! I used italian seasoning and cooked as stated. After cooking I drained all the liquid and made a roux then added the cooking liquid back in. Made a great gravy to go over the yummy and moist pork balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This recipe makes very yummy meatballs!!! I used a pound of pork but it didn't really make a difference with the flavor. I served with garlic and olive oil vermecilli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This recipe was very easy to make. I did make a few changes. I used one cup of rolled oats in place of the crumbled bread and I used oregano instead of the parsley. I also baked it in the oven in the broth at 350F for about 40 minutes. They turned out delicious! Not too soggy, not too dry! Might try again, maybe with half beef / half pork for something less fatty?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Fabulous recipe that the family loved. It was very easy to put together and took very little time in preparing it. I put Italian spice in, instead of the parsley flakes to spruce up the taste, which helped pop the flavour up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
These were delicious. I was a little short on the Parmesan cheese and did not seem to miss it. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States