Pork Loin Chops in Apple Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Excellent, but I made several adjustments. First, I rubbed the chops down with olive oil prior to placing it in the flour mixture and I used kosher salt throughout the recipe. Secondly, I added shallots while searing the pork and added chopped apple when it was time to simmer. The apples and shallots really made the sauce. Lastly, I had no cream on hand so I used 1% milk and the sauce was amazing and still very rich. I think cream would of been too heavy. Served with mashed potatoes to soak up the sauce. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
wow!!! now this is an awesome way to cook chicken. i had to do chicken since my sweety is none too keen on pork. but i love the sauce...i licked my plate. it had a wonderful subtle apple flavour. brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valinutah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Excellent! I actually marinated the porkchops for a day in apple cider for extra taste. Also, after adding the cider to the porkchops to boil I used two apples (cut into cubes) and a handful of baking raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I thought this was excellent! The pork chops were moist and full of flavor. The smell of the apple cider while it was cooking was wonderful. The sauce came out perfect. I used light cream, but I think I may omit this next time. It was just a little on the rich side for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I changed the recipe to give it more flavor. I doubled the nutmeg, instead of using 1 cup of apple juice I used 1/2 cup apple juice, and 1/2 cup apple cider vinagar. I also crushed 2 small apples and simmered with the chicken, and left them in the pan after removing the chicken for the gravy. I added some brown sugar to taste in the cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Heilder, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was scrumptious and easy! The sauce was amazing! I made no changes to the original recipes and loved it! Honestly, this is the first time in ages that both of my children have eaten all their dinner without complaint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very easy to make and delicious with or w/out the sauce. I didn't have allspice so I used approx. 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon, and a pinch or two of ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My husband almost fell over; this was so good! I didn't have apple cider but had frozen concentrate, so I used 2 tbsp of it. I added cider vinegar as well. I also added apples and onions with the porkchops. Today I'm using hard cider, a bit of apple sauce, and apple cider vinegar with 1/2 & 1/2 for the cream sauce. Great over mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This recipe turned out great! The pork chops were nice and moist, not tough. Let me mention one thing I used applesauce instead of apple cider (didn't have cider) it "melted down" perfectly. I also swirled some real maple syrup into the sauce and it added a really nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Fantastic! This dish was great; my husband really appreciated it after a long day at work. I didn't have any apple cider, so I used half apple cider vinegar and half apple sauce and it was nice and tangy. I also added some onions while the pork was browning as some other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States